Case of the Mondays

Sorry for the lack of posting lately! It’s definitely been one of those days.

But hey, I’m feeling good and healthy, my Christmas tree is beautiful, my house is clean…it’s all good.

This morning, I had banana oats with PB for breakfast. Surprised?

006

All I keep hearing about from people today after this Thanksgiving holiday is that they are going to “go on a diet” or “not eat” for a while. What the heck?

Don’t do it people, it won’t work! Love yourself more than that. Please.

I skipped my usual Monday Starbucks run this morning because I was so full from breakfast (perhaps that’s where I went wrong, ha).

Eventually my appetite caught up and I snacked on an apple and Dark Chocolate Dreams.

007

I had soup planned for lunch but the bowl I brought to eat it out of fell onto the floor of my cubicle and shattered :(

I searched high and low at work and there were no spare bowls to be found. So I had to buy lunch today, which totally sucked (I hate spending money unexpectedly).

I decided to go to Einstein Brothers Bagels because I’d never been there before and it was one of the closest places to go (since it was cold outside and I was trying to avoid it).

008

I was frustrated and hungry when I got over there, always a deadly combination.

I ordered the “Veg Out” sandwich, which cost me $6.35! I could’ve got a bag of bagels, an onion, tomato, cucumber and head of lettuce for that much probably.

009

I don’t know what the sauce was (reminded me of a chipotle ranch) but I’m pretty sure it contained dairy and it even messed with my stomach a bit. I hate that because I didn’t know sauce came on it. Silly me.

This tasted alright and was filling but the high price tag (and the red onions) left a bad taste in my mouth. The bagel also did not work well as “bread” because everything fell out with every bite I took…very messy.

010

For $6.35, I could’ve at least gotten a whole meal at Subway. Will remember that next time (hopefully there won’t be one).

I snacked on some more Dark Chocolate crack Dreams and then called it a day. Since I was seriously craving soup, I decided to take it home and make it for dinner!

011

Dr. McDougall’s soups rule! I still have two more to try after this.

This Roasted Pepper Tomato really hit the spot and made my nose run a little ;-)

012

The tortilla chips were a nice touch!

After dinner settled, I went for a really freakin’ cold walk with my friend Candy and then hit up Target to see if they had any good deals. I got a fleece and some more warm pajama pants for $20.

My in-laws early Christmas present came at the best time! :)

When I got home, I felt hungry again and even though I’d had my fair share of chocolate peanut butter, I’m apparently not tired of chocolate or peanut butter, individually.

013

I’m so glad Monday is over and I can’t wait to try again tomorrow. Really though, today wasn’t too bad. Could always be worse, right?

I should’ve expected a rough transition coming off a five day weekend, ha ha!

How do you deal with a case of the Mondays?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on November 30, 2009, in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Snacks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Hate to be the bearer of bad news, but I’m pretty sure the bagels at Einstein’s aren’t vegan. I’ve been told that they have egg in them. I could be wrong because I haven’t heard this from them directly, but I’ve seen on several occasions that they aren’t vegan.

    Something you have to get in the habit of doing is always asking if there is sauce on sandwiches, because often there is and often it’s not vegan.

    Also, I hear you about spending that kind of money on lunch, especially when it’s sub par. I hope your Tuesday is better.

    • Thanks Carrie! Yeah, I checked online and the only one that is vegan is their sundried tomato bagel (which I did NOT have). I should’ve known better and I guess one good thing is that I don’t eat out often enough for this to happen but at the same time if I did go out more perhaps I would get in the habit of asking more questions ;-)

  2. Haha Office Space “case of the mondays”

    I am usually in a funk on a monday but then I read your blog and how you loooooooooove mondays and how they are a fresh start etc and I usually snap out of it =) … Maybe you should read some old Monday posts =)

  3. Glad you are getting your fill of addictive crack from the DCD! :) I love the stuff. It got confiscated at the SDF security line so I have to get more while i’m out this week. Having to settle for regular – sad.
    How do you deal with all the sodium in your packaged soups. That is the main reason I don’t eat them – but didn’t know if your’s were lower than others.
    Have a great day.
    What are you doing Saturday morning?

    • Kim, most of Dr. McDougall’s soups are in the 400′s of mgs of sodium (per serving) which is about the same or a little less than soups labeled “reduced sodium” out there (like Progresso). I myself am not sodium sensitive (as far as it’s effects on hypertension) but I still try to keep foods like frozen dinners and packaged soups to a minimum. Once I use these up, I will probably stick to making my own soups for a while because it’s healthier and also more cost effective.

  4. Yeah Monday after a long weekend is always brutal. That’s why I had to head to Whole Foods and sulk over an overpriced salad. Hope Tuesday is better!

  5. Ohhh that stinks! And I don’t know if you’re like me, but when I get my taste buds ready for something nothing else will hit the spot, really. So I’m glad you got to have your soup for dinner ;-)

    And I’m sorry to hear that the bagel sandwich was a disappointment because it looks really good!

    Do you think it’s possible to EVER get tired of chocolate and peanut butter?! Not me! Hehe ;-)

    I’m glad your Monday is over. Thankfully it’s Tuesday now so hopefully things will be better today!

  6. I had a case of the Mondays at first, but luckily, it got better as the day went on. Hope today is a better day for you!

  7. I hate that! (When something is $6-$10) and I know I could buy a bag of bagels, 2-3 tomatoes, lettuce and my own hummus for that price. UGH!

    I love Einstein Bros bagels though. The sundried tomato is the best!

  8. bad case of the mondays? i do exactly what you did haha drown my sorrows in pb and shopping :) i’m glad you finally got your soup in though!

  9. Sorry about the broken bowl/overpriced bagel situation! That blows. I hate it when things don’t work out as I’ve planned them. My best solution for bad Mondays? Hitting the gym after work for cardio boxing class … or saying to hell with all that and going out for happy hour drinks with my friends.

  1. Pingback: Two months « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: Feeling soupy « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

