Cookie balls

My dear friend Mari is having an awesome Dunkin Donuts coffee giveaway over at her blog Namaste. Go check it out now!!

We are having a small Christmas / Monday Night Football party tonight and I wanted to take the opportunity to try out a vegan dessert. I went through the ingredients I had in my pantry and decided on Lindsey’s Vegan Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies.

I didn’t have agave so I just used the pancake syrup I had on hand. I think that was the only substitution I made, other than once again using my chunky applesauce instead of opening up another jar.

They tasted really good but the first batch came out looking more like balls, so I smooshed down the second batch to make them look more like cookies :)

I can’t wait to try more vegan cookie recipes!

One thing I would like to invest in is one of those standing mixers. They are so expensive but I found that some of the ingredients in this recipe did not mesh together well and I wish I’d had a mixer like this one:

What is your favorite cookie recipe?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on December 21, 2009, in Dessert, recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Oh dear, get a mixer! :) I love mine. You can get them (cheaper) at Kohls when they arehaving a sale. And artisan is the kind I have and I love it. Paid about 200 for it and it is wonderful.
    I have way too many cookie recipes I love – but anything with oatmeal in it – so I’ll have to try these!

  2. Thanks for the shout out!

    those cookies look so good =) even if they turned out looking like balls hehe…

    My stepmom has that mixer….one day I am going to snatch it lol

  3. Thanks for trying the recipe! Glad you liked the taste! I kind of liked them poofy (or looking like balls haha), but if you want to make them a little flatter, next time you can use baking soda instead of baking powder. Baking powder makes them rise and baking soda makes them spread. :)

    And yes – a KitchenAid mixer is awesome!! I love mine. :) Although I just use a plain ol’ bowl and wooden spoon for this recipe. :)

    Happy vegan baking!

  1. Pingback: Struggling to catch up « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

