Temptation?

Happy Christmas everyone!

As I enter into my first vegan Christmas, I was reminded of an experience I had earlier in the week.

On Tuesday, we went to Bearnos Pizza with our entire department for a Christmas lunch.

Now, this place has a menu, but mostly everyone just gets the buffet, so I just went with it. I had two big plates of salad and veggies and was hoping for some spaghetti with marinara but it ended up being baked penne pasta with cheese so I had to pass.

This is where the interesting thing came in…I half way thought about having an “off” day and eating some veggie pizza. I took some time to think about it and thought about how much it would hurt my stomach, especially since I haven’t had dairy in almost 3 months.

By the time I had all those conversations in my head, I wasn’t even hungry anymore! I had filled up on salad and veggies, plus two plain breadsticks.

As we were leaving, instead of feeling deprived or upset about my lack of options, I actually felt really good about my choices and my commitment to eating a vegan diet for my health and my body.

I think it is great to get put in situations like these because it is a really good test of how committed you are and how you handle tough food situations.

Whether you just try to eat healthier or you have specific dietary concerns, I believe everyone goes through this once in a while. And whether you find it was a positive or negative experience, it’s all a learning experience which in the end is a good thing.

How do you handle challenging food situations? Are you ever tempted to eat something you usually avoid?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on December 25, 2009, in challenges and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I don’t handle temptation very well but I am getting somewhat better with it. I am so proud of you

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

