Nailing down a training program

After the meeting last night, I started going through the training materials we were given, which included a detailed calendar / training schedule.

I had already been loosely following this one for a couple of days but I felt it was time to finally nail down some specific program guidelines that I know will work for me, using the provided program as my base. Everyone is different, so make sure you do this for yourself too if you are planning on training for any races soon.

I should add that every day and week will be different and life is likely to get in the way sometimes. But for now, here are some goals I have for my training over the next 16 weeks!

Sarah’s Goals for Half Marathon Training

  • Run 4 days/week  – This is at most! Any more and I will get injured or burned out like I did in 2008. I also want to try and make these non-consecutive days when possible.
  • Do weight training 1x /week  – This is an actual weight training session (which I will use for my cross-training day). I may do some strength moves on short run days to keep up my strength.
  • Do yoga 1x/weekThis will either be a class (or Yoga Download) done on a rest day. Obviously I could do it more than once so this is a minimum.
  • Have one day of complete restNo excuses. This will likely be Sundays :)

Are you running any races this Spring? What do you do to train for them?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 6, 2010, in running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Love it.
    I’m running the Anthem in March – 2-3 miles 4-5xs a week should be good. Yoga 5-6 days a week, Shred or Bob 2-3 days a week.
    I’m thinking of doing two minies – one in VA Beach over Labor Day and one in Raleigh in November.

  2. I’m doing the Cherry Blossom 10 miler in DC on April 11 and my first Half Marathon on May 9.

    I am loosely following Hal Higdon’s Half Marathon Intermediate Plan.

    sunday – full body weights & 90 mins Bikram Yoga
    monday – x miles & abs
    tuesday – tempo run or intervals per Higdon
    wednesday – 3 miles & lower body weights
    thursday – x miles & upper body weights
    friday – REST
    saturday – Long run & abs

    I personally think the plan includes too much running, at least for me personally. So if I feel like running, I’ll run. Otherwise, I might do an hour of cross training instead.

    If I need to skip a day from soreness or tiredness – then on a weekly basis I make sure my week ALWAYS includes: bikram yoga, the 3 weight sessions, the long run, the interval/tempo run, and at least 1 other run.

    I’m trying to improve my time and beat my friends :) friendly competition never hurt anybody!

  3. I’m running the Indianapolis 500 Mini-marathon in March! Just started training…can’t wait!

  4. I want to run a 5k in the spring but it’s too cold to start training…sad panda

    great training program =)

  5. That looks like a good program. I’m just now learning to run. I’m doing this thing were you walk for so many minutes and run for so many, alternating for 30 minutes. So far, I can run 3 minutes and walk for 3 for 30 minutes. Not impressive, I know. But I’m proud of myself. I never thought I’d be able to run at all. I’ve worked out 5 days a week for a long time, but running is a whole ‘nother animal. I think it’s much harder!

    Question: I’ve only been doing this for a month or so, and I’ve noticed that I get pretty bad pain in my knees when I run. It lasts for a few days afterward. Is that normal? Am I doing something wrong? Could it be my shoes? I don’t have actual running shoes…just some New Balance workout sneakers.

    • Hey, I started running 2 minutes, walking 4 minutes for 30 minutes. We all have to start somewhere, I think you are doing great!

      It could definitely be the shoes. You don’t have to drop $100+ like some people do (I don’t), but you should at least visit a running shoe store and see what they recommend for you (based on the shape of your foot and the way it strikes the ground). Then go to Dick’s or another cheaper shoe/sporting goods store and find a decent model of what you need. I usually get my running shoes for $40-50. In 2008, I had Adidas and this year I had Asics (which most runners swear by).

      That knee pain is not normal. You should never have bad pain when running and certainly not for days afterwards. Try some new shoes and if that doesn’t work, you might want to try taping or knee sleeves. I don’t know if you have ever read Caitlin’s blog but she has quite a few posts on knee pain, including this one: http://www.healthytippingpoint.dreamhosters.com/2009/09/knee-pain.html

  6. Hi Sarah…I don’t know if I have ever commented on your blog before, but I love it! Good luck with the training. Looks like a great plan. I ran my first half in November and am excited to do another one!

  1. Pingback: Hallelujah « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: Back in training mode « See Sarah Eat

  3. Pingback: Welcome to my fitness blog! « River City Fitness

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

