Why is there egg in my wine?

On Wednesday night, I got to try two more new wines. The first was Armento, an Italian white wine made of organically grown grapes.

012

This was much drier than white wines I am used to and that is a good thing, I don’t like the ones that are too sweet.

013

I checked the handy Barnivore site, but it wasn’t listed. In fact, I couldn’t even find a real website for it!

The second one I tried was this lovely shiraz from Jacob’s Creek.

018

This was so good, I am totally a red wine girl to the core.

019

Unfortunately, according to the site, this might contain skim milk powder or egg white! Apparently they use it to “remove excess aggressive tannins and astringency.”

I just don’t get why there might be egg in my wine :( It really makes me worry about people who have allergies too, but I’m sure they realize all the places dairy and egg can sneak in, I hope.

This is why I keep trying new wines…eventually I’m going to find a really great, vegan-friendly choice (like Yellow Tail shiraz, which I loved before going vegan).

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 15, 2010, in wine and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Glad you find Barnivore useful! I did some sleuthing and found the missing website. http://www.chiusagrande.com/ and lets both email them at info@chiusagrande.com and see what they have to say! You can use our “official” question on our contact page. http://www.barnivore.com/contact

    best, angela

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

