Ladies and the ’80s

Last night, our regular Wednesday girl’s night took a road trip :)

Our mission : to find some awesome ’80s attire and accessories to wear for my friend Courtney’s 30th birthday party on Saturday! I’d say we were pretty successful in our quest. I can’t wait for the party and to post pictures of it afterwards!

When we finally got back it was late for dinner, so I had to break my 9:00 rule. Hey, rules are meant to be broken once in a while, right?

While dinner was heating up, I enjoyed a class of Ravens Wood Zinfandel, my very first one!

I really liked it. Usually I prefer red wines that aren’t quite this dry but it still had a really good taste. Unfortunately, here again I found another brand that is not vegan friendly. I had no idea that so many animal products were used in making wine, did you all? I’m going to print out a list of the ones that ARE, I’m sure it’s rather short in comparison, but maybe not.

Dinner was taco soup (yum), bread and some tortilla chips too (not pictured).


Confession : I am still struggling with getting some of these last remaining non-vegan products out of my life (such as the wine and bread above). I guess since I started this whole thing for health reasons, I didn’t see the need to be so strict. But as I am learning more and really experiencing began vegan, my health is improving and my heart is changing so I am feeling more inclined to get rid of everything containing animal products. But it’s been a process as you’ve seen. I’m not perfect by any means, nor do I think I ever will be. But I’m trying my best!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 21, 2010, in Dinner, wine and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. it really, really weirds me out that wine is EVER made with animal products.

  2. An 80s party, how fun! I am going to email you a photo of the outfits my friend and I put together for our pal’s 80s-themed Halloween party.

  3. Why isn’t bread vegan? I make homemade and can leave out the 2 T milk powder if I want. Then it’s just whole wheat flour, yeast, olive oil, sugar, and water.

    • There are lots of vegan breads out there and I would definitely love to make it myself sometime. Just that particular one I mentioned, it was sweet Italian bread and I read the label that said it contains “2% or less” of eggs and a few other ingredients. That’s all ;-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

