Beginning and end

When I woke up this morning, I was feeling a little funky from all the salty chips, champagne and diet Coke I had last night.

But after a walk with the dog and a few glasses of water, I was feeling much better!

For breakfast, I made pumpkin oats with dark chocolate dreams. I love this stuff!

023

I had Jimmy John’s with my parents for lunch but I didn’t take any pictures. I also had a spoonful of peanut butter before taking a 2.5 hour nap!

I had a few things in mind to make for dinner but I decided to make whatever I was craving when I woke up from my nap…spaghetti it is!

024

This was my first time trying this brand (I had a coupon). It claims to be made with a formula that keeps some of the carbs from being absorbed and lower on the glycemic index.

I made my usual “meat” sauce (pasta sauce, veggies, faux meat crumbles) to go on top and had a pita with Smart Balance Light on the side.

026

The pasta tasted really good and it does have more fiber than regular pasta. I’m glad to use it for now but it’s more expensive than the whole grain I usually buy so unless I get another coupon, I doubt I’ll buy this regularly.

For a snack, I just had a whole wheat English muffin with peanut butter and chocolate chips.

027 

I’m going to watch “Big Love” with Josh and then go to bed early. I’m still tired even after that nap, I feel so old sometimes ;-)

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 24, 2010, in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, products, Snacks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. i love jimmy johns!! so good! great dinner too!

  2. Mmm those pumpkin oats look awesome!

  3. So today was the first day I could have cooked breakfast after my cleanse (that I quit three days early!). So guess what I had? Peanut butter and ricemallow creme oats! And I managed to finish off my jar of White Chocolate Wonderful, so guess what I’m eating tomorrow? Oats in a jar!

    Question: You seem to eat a lot of nut butter. Since doing my cleanse, I’m CRAVING nut butter all the time. During the cleanse, I got most of my protein from nuts and seeds. Now I can get protein from all kinds of food, but I still want lots of nuts. The problem is, I feel guilty (in a fat way) if I eat more than a couple tablespoons of nut butter in a day. Like this morning, I had two tablespoons of PB in my oats. And that’s fine, but is it okay to have some almond butter (on a rice cake) as a pre-workout snack later today? How many tablespoons of nut butter should one have in a day? I know it’s good fat, but I guess I just want someone to tell me it’s okay to have more than two tablespoons in a day. :-)

    • Since 2 tablespoons is one serving, I definitely think it is okay to have more than that in a day. It is good fat but I come from a mindset like you where it took me a LONG time to realize that lower fat isn’t always the best. Typically, I will have anywhere from 2-4 tablespoons of nut butter a day. I do one tbsp in my oats because I’ve found that if I let it sit and melt, it goes a long way. But I usually have 1 or 2 more over the course of the day with snacks. Don’t feel guilty if you have more than 2, but if you are getting to like 6 or 7, then you might want to reassess. Hope that helps!

  4. I love pumpkin oats, it’s just so good! I just discovered your other blog, and now this one! Running + Food = :-)

    - Kloé

  1. Pingback: Breakfast and dinner « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

