Vegan brownies rule

For my contribution to our girl’s night potluck, I decided to test out a new cookbook that Court gave me for Christmas.

006

I love the name, plus the entire cookbook is desserts! Doesn’t get much better than that.

I chose to start out with something I thought everyone would like…brownies!

007

I laid out all the ingredients, including some substitutions (like applesauce for oil). I also halved the sugar it called for because I know that is easily something to do that saves calories.

008

Since I used applesauce and didn’t have brown sugar, the “crumb top” was more of an “icing” but I just went with it.

009

I thought they turned out great! Everyone remarked that they tasted like fudge and I would have to agree. Nice and chocolatey, not overly sweet, just right.

006

I love recipe successes! I highly recommend this one, you won’t miss the eggs or dairy, seriously.

What is your favorite cookbook?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 28, 2010, in Dessert, recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. These look fabulous, like they must taste very rich and decadent. I will have to check out this cookbook!

  2. Sarah Foster’s Foster’s Market Cookbook (2nd of soon to be 4). i like all of her’s and her cafe in Durham and in Chapel hil is my fave place to go of all time. You’ll have to come visit and we’ll go. I’m sure she has some vegan things!

  1. Pingback: New phone! « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: Camera vs. Blackberry « See Sarah Eat

  3. Pingback: Green soup and stir fry madness « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

