Yoga calling

My training schedule called for a 2 mile run, plus some weights if I felt up to it.

But around lunch time, I really started to feel the need for yoga. Like I was craving it! So I changed days around and made today cross-training aka yoga :)

Perhaps it was influenced by the headband I wore today? Ha ha.

IMG00007-20100128-1419

So I went after work to a class for newbies but it was a bit more vigorous than that.

I had a few issues to start with: the instructor went a little too fast, the music didn’t feel right, plus the small room was really crowded!

But somehow I managed to focus and tried to get the most out of it while I was there.

Even though it wasn’t my “ideal” class, I still felt really great when I left there. I’m so glad I started this yoga challenge 4 weeks ago. I hope to keep it an integral part of my routine for a long time to come.

My question today for you is…what are some of your pet peeves in yoga classes?

Today, I found the instructor to be a little too high energy and unfocused. Plus she kept calling the poses by the wrong names.

But, I don’t want to judge too harshly, the class was free and Lord knows I call stuff wrong all the time. Namaste.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 28, 2010, in yoga and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Some teachers aren’t very well suited to teaching beginners. To teach a beginner class, you have to put yourself in the mind of a beginner, and sometimes our egos get in the way of us doing that. That said, there is always something to learn from every yoga class. Classes that annoy you are good opportunities to practice detachment. Detach from the music that doesn’t seem quite right….why does it matter? Detach from the teacher that’s going to fast…..you are there for an experience anyway, and that experience is about you, not about the instructor. As far as instructors go, sometimes we learn something about ourselves from the one’s we like the least. It’s often said that what we don’t like about someone is often what we least like about ourselves. Just some things to think about!!

    Also, unless she was calling the poses by a name and then correcting herself (as in she knew or was apologizing for her mistakes) she may not have been calling them the wrong names at all. Different schools of yoga call different poses by different names. For instance, in Bikram yoga, what is normally thought of as side angle pose is called triangle pose. In Kundalini yoga, what is often known as Downward Facing Dog is called triangle pose. So, there’s a good chance she was trained in a style of yoga you aren’t familiar with.

    If you don’t mind my asking, where was this class? And, do you know the instructors name??

    • Thank you for that insight Carrie. Yes, I definitely think this class was a learning experience. It taught me a lot about myself and what I want/need from yoga personally.

      I think the poor girl was just nervous, plus she even noted that she teaches pilates and she was just filling in for the day. She kept calling chair pose child’s pose ;-)
      I do think with all that considered, she did an okay job, I would just prefer a different experience. I will email you about the rest!

  1. Pingback: Camera vs. Blackberry « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: Unexpected 2 miles « River City Fitness

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Yoga calling « River City Fitness -- Topsy.com

  4. Pingback: Yoga slacker and walking breaks « River City Fitness

  5. Pingback: Two in a row « River City Fitness

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

