Green soup and stir fry madness

Yesterday for breakfast, I bulked up my oatmeal!

001

I used 1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup plain soymilk, 1/4 cup of water. Then I added a tbsp of flaxseed meal, and my usual bananas and PB. This definitely kept me full for a while!

For lunch, I tried another new soup for me. I remember the days when I thought split pea soup was just what they used for The Exorcist!

004

It was quite green!

003

While it wasn’t my preferred consistency of split pea soup, it had a very unique taste to others I have tried.

It was kind of “peppery” and even a bit on the spicy side. I really enjoyed it. Whole wheat English muffin on the side.

002

I was planning on making baked tofu for dinner but then I remembered the tasty stir fry I made last week and all of the ones Mari has been enjoying lately.

So stir fry it was!

I started with the tofu this time, pressing out the water and browning it a bit.

005

Then I added this entire bag of veggies.

006

007

Then I poured a tablespoon of each of these into the skillet.

008

It was an interesting combination for sure, but it came out great! Sweet, hot and salty? Yes, please.

009

The veggies were good, I love asparagus and squash. I almost got a different bag but I’m so glad I went with this one.

Pita on the side with some Smart Balance Light. Perfect dinner!

010

I’m going to have to take a page out of Mari’s book next time and add some peanut butter!

Vegan brownies for dessert of course :)

011 

I can’t wait to make more recipes out of My Sweet Vegan…perhaps later today?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 30, 2010, in Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

