Snow, waffles, ambience

We got a few inches of snow overnight and into this morning. I had a fun walk with Suzie!

suziesnow

Last night when we were waiting for it to start snowing (we stayed home and cozy), I had decided to make waffles in the morning!

My parents tried this mix recently and didn’t like it. I was bummed for them, but it worked out for me. :)

012

I used 3/4 cup of the mix and then added 1/2 cup soy milk, 1/4 cup water, 1/4 cup applesauce (for the egg) and 1/4 cup pumpkin (for the oil and flavor).

Plus some pumpkin pie spice, I almost forgot that!

013

The batch made about 5.5 waffles, so I had two drizzled with peanut butter and syrup and topped with a lovely banana.

014

Yumalicious!

Coffee was a must have, especially after my frigid trek outside (it’s in the single digits with the wind chill right now).

015

Just French vanilla coffee and soymilk. The way I like it :)

Right now, I’m listening to the “New Age Ambient” station on Pandora and thinking of doing some yoga on my own. It’s quite relaxing, I like to listen to it at work too.

Eventually I’m going to have to venture out for a while to my mom’s and the grocery store. But I’m taking my sweet time!

What are your plans for the day?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 30, 2010, in Breakfast, Weekends and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I can’t believe how cold it is! The waffles looks so good! I have tried applesauce and pumpkin separately, but never together- thanks for the idea!

    I’m just running errands today, blissful, easy Saturday!

  2. I was thinking about getting that mix but worried about the taste.

  3. We don’t have any plans today, really. The kids are outside in the snow. They go out for awhile, come in freezing, warm up by the fire, then head back out…it’s been a nonstop cycle today. Me, well other than holding the recliner down, I DID do 35 minutes of lunges, squats and squat jumps, some ab work, interspersed with some jumping jacks. Just enough to break a sweat and make me not feel so bad about the recliner-thing ;-)

    We ended up getting about 6-8″ or so. It’s very pretty.

  4. Enjoy the snow! I love dogs in the snow…they have such fun!

    Your waffles look sooo good!

  5. Did it take awhile for you to acquire the taste of soymilk in your coffee, or did you always like it? I’m trying to replace my cream in my coffee with almond milk, and the taste/lack of creaminess just isn’t doing it for me!

    • It did take me a while to get used to it but I’ve found that vanilla soymilk is better when you have “Regular” coffee, however plain soymilk is just fine if you have flavored coffee. One thing I just learned that helps a lot is to heat up the soymilk by itself first before you pour the coffee in it (for about 20 seconds). That helps it mix together better :)

  6. wow those waffles look delish!

  1. Pingback: Wholly delicious « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: Saturday pancakes « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

