Pound for Pound: Week 1

This morning, I had my first “official” weigh in for the Pound for Pound Challenge.

I say “official” this time because I gave my official weight last week, but that was from my home scale and we all know the importance of consistency and using the same scale each week.

Today’s Weight: 151.6

I am up a bit from last week, but there were several factors at play here:

  • I used a different scale this week
  • I weighed at 11 a.m. instead of first thing in the morning
  • I had clothes on
  • My muscles are a bit inflamed from the awesome workout I had yesterday

So I’m not upset, concerned, etc. I wouldn’t be even if all of that weren’t true. The scale does not determine my happiness or my satisfaction with my body. I love me!

The last time I was in a weight loss program, I weighed in at the same time on the same day on the same scale once a week. I also wore the same or very similar clothing. The more consistent you can be, the more accurate your readings.

I might get rid of my home scale too. I originally did not have a scale at home, but since we are off work for two weeks around the Christmas holidays, I got one to keep me accountable around that time back in 2007.

Finally, I am counting today as my starting point and setting some goals for this week!

Goals for Week 1:

  • Journal/Meal planning
  • Portion control
  • Obey the 9 o’clock rule (aka no eating 2 hours before bedtime)

If you are in a weight loss program, how is it going for you? What are your goals this week?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 22, 2010, in challenges, goals, Weight, weight loss and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Good luck with the challenge! I way over indulged this weekend and now I have to get back on track…

  2. ” The scale does not determine my happiness or my satisfaction with my body. I love me” I need to remind myself of this….

    You will be so proud of me…I have not weighed myself since feb 15th!!! I hope I see some results.

  3. I am much like eaternotarunner – I felt like I had a steady PMS chocolate diet for 2 weeks. Back on track today and feeling great!

  4. My weight loss is going slow. So slow that I wonder if I will ever lose anything! But I keep reminding myself that slow and steady wins the race!

    • Amanda, that is very true. There were weeks during my initial weight loss where I would stay the same or only lose 0.1 lb and I told myself the same thing. I think the longer it takes, the easier it is to keep off. If we lost it all in a month, we wouldn’t learn as much!

  1. Pingback: Motivated « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: Falafel Friday « See Sarah Eat

  3. Pingback: Pound for Pound: Week 2 « See Sarah Eat

  4. Pingback: Pound for Pound: Week 3 « See Sarah Eat

  5. Pingback: Pound for Pound: Week 11 « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

