My first frittata

For girl’s night potluck this week, I had the main course. I wanted to try a new recipe and I was definitely feeling like a breakfast dish.

Only this time, instead of baked oatmeal, I was feeling more like something savory. I decided to bust out my copy of Vegan Planet and make a frittata!

011

I was shocked at how easy this was to make. I decided to use vegetables I already had on hand and thanks to Lindsay, I learned I could substitute corn starch for arrowroot.

In the mix: asparagus, red onion, red and green peppers.

010

I was a little unsure about using tofu in a dish like this. I wasn’t sure how it would look or taste.

012

When I poured the mixture on top of the veggies, I was getting nervous.

013

But when it came out of the oven, it sort of looked like eggs and the consistency was quite similar.

014

The only problem was the veggies sort of “fell out” so it got a little messy ;-)

015

But I have to say, it tasted pretty good. It didn’t taste like eggs, more like baked tofu, but I liked it!

And because the ingredients were so simple and fresh, the calories were pretty low in this dish.

016

For dessert, I had some strawberries that were pretty good. I’m so looking forward to Spring and Summer fruits.

017

We also enjoyed a bottle of Beringer Pinot Grigio.

018

I had a glass with some bread that arrived later (this Meijer fresh baked bread is vegan and totally delicious).

020

I also had a cup of Plantation Mint and another piece of bread (and another that went unpictured)!

021

Everything was so good and I was really pleased with how my first “frittata” turned out.

I do think I will try it again and I’m also ready to tackle a tofu scramble that sounds really good :)

What dish have you made that you were unsure about, but it turned out good?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 25, 2010, in Dessert, Dinner, recipes, tea, wine and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Did you have to blend or toss the tofu in a food processor to get it like that? It looks really good!

    I stopped posting my daily meals just for the fact that it is really repetitive. I eat the same thing everyday just because it makes me feel the best. Now I focus on recipes and other articles I have an interest in. :)

  2. I wonder if you baked the veggies and tofu mixed together it would hold and serve better. Yay for Vegan Planet – I need to cook out of mine more often.

    Many things I miss about Louisville, including some Meijer brands of food!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

