Two in a row

I recently posted on Twitter asking other running bloggers how often they run. Some said 5-6 days a week, some 3 or 4, with alternating days. Everyone is different!

I had started to think that perhaps I needed to cut down to 3-4 and try not to run two consecutive days anymore because I’m worried about injuries and getting burned out like I did last time I trained for a mini marathon.

So since I ran two miles yesterday, technically I should have just laid low today. But since I like to do long runs on Saturdays (not that I have in a while) I want a day off before that.

So I headed to the gym and went right over to the Cardio Cinema. They were showing “Gone in 60 Seconds” this time. Definitely not a favorite, but still fun to watch while running.

Holy crap, that movie is 10 years old. What?!

Oh yeah, I ran 3 miles in 32:57!

When I first started, my hip felt tight and my knee hurt a bit but after the first mile, I was good to go. I’m so glad I ran today and didn’t talk myself out of it. Now I can rest tomorrow and get ready for Saturday :)

I also took a yoga class today which ended up being taught by the same instructor that I got frustrated with once before. But luckily, I changed my attitude, realized the class was about my practice, and it ended up being okay. Not great, but okay!

How often do you run?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 25, 2010, in running, yoga and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Good job on the quick 3 miler! Great post. I am also in the 3 or 4 days camp on running. I seem to get injured if I don’t get a rest day now and then.
    Happy running,
    Rundad

  2. I used to run six days a week and not even keep track of how many consecutive days it would happen. Then I had the stress reaction from hell that WOULD NOT get better. So I’ve been slowly building up my mileage again with a routine of run two days, take a day off. So far it’s been working well for me!

  3. I’m training for my first 5K & am trying to run 3-4 times/week, & I’ve tried to do it every other day or so. This week I’ve done a couple of back-to-backs though… I’m just listening to my body. :)

  1. Pingback: Last one until Monday « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

