Rest? What is that?

I don’t know if you know this about me, but I do not like “rest” days!

It’s not that I mind taking a day off from running by doing another activity or taking it easy with my workout from time to time. I just don’t like those days when I’m not supposed to (or can’t) do anything!

Unfortunately, now that I am sick, I must take complete rest days. On Tuesday, the first day I felt ill, I took a 45 minute walk. But ever since then I have not done anything but sit, lay down, drink lots of fluids and eat some nutrient dense food (and some not-so-nutrient-dense, ha ha).

With a 10 mile race coming up next Saturday, I will admit to being a little nervous but I can say with a sound mind that I have done the best I can with my training. Life happens, things come up, people get sick, we run out of time, etc.

I don’t care if I have to run-walk this race or if my time is slower this year. I’m not hoping to do anything but show up and have a good time!

I will start reporting my workouts again when they start happening again. I’m trying to take little walks here and there while I’m at work but nothing too strenuous. Thank you all for your feedback on my last post!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 26, 2010, in rest and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I am the same way when it comes to rest days but good for you for listening to your body! It will thank you! =)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

