Pound for Pound: Week 6

After the week that I had, you might expect that I wasn’t looking forward to this weigh in today. But honestly, since I processed my thoughts and emotions (via writing this blog post), I was not dreading the weigh in at all.

I truly looked forward to it because I feel like I am starting over again. There are things in life that are not fun to be constantly starting anew, but I feel like as far as health, eating and fitness goes, they are areas that should be reignited at times, even if it means taking a step back to reassess your goals.

I’m not looking at this weigh in as “let’s see the damage I did last week” or as a “bad” result from a week or poor eating, being sick, and not getting very much exercise. I feel like I really had a breakthrough over the weekend, so this is just the starting point for my renewed focus on wholesome nutrition and daily healthy exercise.

  • Last week’s weight: 147.5 lbs
  • This week’s weight: 151.2 lbs (+3.7 lb)
  • Total weight lost to date: 0.4 lbs (8.6 to goal)

Wow. It’s a good thing I prepared myself for this weigh in ahead of time. I have almost completely gone back to square one. Luckily this challenge has 13 weeks left! Definitely enough time that this goal is still realistic for me.

As for the gain…I knew it, I expected it, but still, what a whacky week! I was sick and had a mental meltdown. But I’m definitely over it all now. Don’t worry, I’m not upset. I am using this as motivation. Such a change from the past me!

I really appreciate all the comments on my last post, I hope to incorporate a lot of your all’s ideas into my new plan. Thanks for sticking with me!

This week’s goals

I just have one and that is to get back to a healthy balance of eating good, nutritious foods and getting some much-needed exercise.

What about you?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 29, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I also weighed myself this morning after a weekend of crappy eating and instead of being upset, I took it as a starting point!

    Amanda and I are thinking of starting a buddy system…you should join us =)

  2. You have the right mindset, and that’s what is important! Go for it girl!

  3. When my scale jumps a lot, even if I’ve been lazy and not eating great, I look back over the week and ask, ‘Did I eat x amount of extra calories?’ For 3.7 pounds you would need about 13,000 extra calories outside of what your body required. Usually I know I didn’t eat that many extra, so I try (easier said than done) not to let it bother me and keep putting one foot in front of the other.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

