Sweet Potato Cornbread

Last night’s girl’s night potluck was totally fun! We ended up watching “Twilight” which I hadn’t really seen before. I’m not as big of a fan as some of you ;-) I haven’t read the books either, but it was a fun movie to watch (and laugh about) with the girls.

(Source)

For dinner, we had vegetarian chili that Beth made on top of some noodles.

It was a little spicy and definitely filling, although I did go back for a little more after this initial bowl :)


That hunk of bread you see in the above picture was my contribution this week…Sweet Potato Cornbread! I was originally going to make biscuits until I learned that I do not own a rolling pin. What?! Guess what I’m shopping for soon?

Not only have I never made this recipe before, I’ve never even made my own cornbread. I get so excited when I am able to create something myself from scratch, as opposed to making it out of the box. I feel a sense of achievement :) The best part is, I had all of this stuff in my fridge and pantry already!

Sweet Potato Cornbread (based on this recipe from Random Girl)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup cooked and mashed sweet potatoes
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup corn meal
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp allspice
  • 4 tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 1/4 cup agave nectar
  • 1/2 cup Silk plain almond milk + 1/2 tbsp apple cider vinegar

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375. In a large bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and allspice. Next, stir in the cornmeal. Add each of the remaining ingredients and mix together. Spoon into a lightly oiled square pan bake for 30 minutes.

It definitely tasted like cornbread! It came out very moist and just a little sweet. I really enjoyed it and so did the girls. What a great way to use up some sweet potatoes too!

We enjoyed some merlot for dessert. I hadn’t had merlot in forever!


This merlot was really good. It was dry but not too much. I prefer red wines to white. What about you?

While we were watching the movie, I snacked on some orange flavored Lifesaver mints, which tasted just like orange tic tacs! Loved ‘em.


When I got home, I was quite hungry again. Not sure why, but I wasn’t going to bed with a growling stomach, so I had half a pita with almond butter, which settled things back down.

Hope you are having a good week so far! I can’t believe it’s already Thursday. I’ve got a busy weekend coming up but we’re expecting beautiful weather again, hooray :)

What are your plans for the weekend?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on April 8, 2010, in Dessert, Dinner, recipes, Snacks, wine and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. That sweet potato cornbread sounds delicious! I’ll have to give it a try. And I love the Twilight books, but the first movie was a little disappointing. The New Moon movie was much, much better though…but you can’t beat the actual books. I’m a red wine girl too!

  2. Merlot is my fave! I wish I had a bottle right now lol

    I never thought of putting pasta with chili…that is genius! haha

    I am loving this cornbread recipe…I actually just had piece of cornbread from boston market…don’t worry, I didn’t have chicken…got a salad lol (which sucked and I tossed out…sad panda)

  3. Yeah, your version of the cornbread looks more like real cornbread. Mine is much sweeter, and tastes like carrot cake (which is definitely not a bad thing). I like that yours uses applesauce! I try to substitute it for oil in a lot of my baking, and it usually works pretty well.

  1. Pingback: Oat bran in a jar « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

