Getting out of my own head

Yesterday, I was ready to run. It had been five days since I had last and I wasn’t sure how it was going to go. You see, I’ve been pretty stressed out lately and not handling it so well. But I do love to run and always feel better after I do, if I can get myself out the door.

I decided to keep it simple. I would wear a watch but not look at it. No iPod. A 3 mile course I am familiar with. No plans to run intervals or not. Just go. Run.

  • Time: 29:05
  • Distance: 3 miles
  • Avg. pace: 9:42/mile

It was one of the best runs ever. At the start, my legs felt a little stiff so I said a few things to myself:

“What is good about this run? Well, I’m out here. The weather is perfect. I can breathe fine. I look good.”

“And what is bad? My legs feel weird. I’m doubting myself. And…Is that all? Well then, I GOT THIS!”

I managed to work through some stress and negativity on this run which made it that much better. I enjoyed working up a sweat and the long stretches I did afterwards. And I am going to enjoy this half marathon on Saturday, rain or shine.

Because I can :)

Thank you all for your sweet and supportive comments. I’m a work in progress but I have hope that I can get back to a more balanced life soon!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on April 21, 2010, in running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Congrats on the great run! It’s wonderful when you can just rely on your body and not a watch. I only look at my watch when I’m speed training now and I don’t miss it!

  2. Good for you, Sarah. Sometimes all it takes is just getting out there and going. I have had some of my best runs with no music and no time-watching, just me and my thoughts. And I always end the run with a different and better outlook than I started with. Hang in there, girl. Enjoy your half on Saturday!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

