My new pre-race tradition

As you might’ve heard, I finished a half marathon on Saturday!

Usually before races like these, people load up on spaghetti, bread, and lots of other carb-filled meals. But for me personally, I don’t go that route.

In fact, if I ate pasta and lots of bread before a race, I would be miserable! Pasta and refined grain bread makes me feel really bloated and icky.

But I still know how to “carbo load” just in my own way. I ate oatmeal for breakfast every day last week and enjoyed brown rice and whole wheat couscous with dinner a few times.

The night before the race, Courtney and I went to Qdoba, just like we did before the 10-miler a few weeks ago.

This time, instead of a burrito, I got a “naked” grilled veggie burrito and added lettuce, pico de gallo and medium salsa.

004
And I enjoyed some tortilla chips and the best guacamole ever made!

003  
And believe it or not, I wasn’t able to finish everything! It felt good to fill up on yummy food but still listen to my body and know when to stop.

Afterward, we went to Barnes & Noble where I enjoyed a nice decaf African Autumn tea :)

If you are a runner, tri-athlete, etc. what is your typical pre-race dinner?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on April 25, 2010, in Dinner, restaurants and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I need to find a good pre-race dinner. I still haven’t found what really works for me!

  2. pre race dinner for me is always pizza, light on the cheese or none actually since i’m lactose intolerant. but always pizza, and lots and lots of water!!!

    great job with the race!

  3. I used to always eat pasta before races, but too much of it makes me feel really sick. I usually stick with a sweet potato, some veggies, and a piece of grilled fish. Works like a charm. I think the meals leading up to the race are more important than the night before.

  4. You know I’m not a real runner yet, but I do work out five days a week, and I cannot imagine eating pasta before working out. That sounds like a tummy ache waiting to happen. Before workouts, I typically have a smoothie, some soy yogurt and granola, an energy bar, or crackers with hummus. Always something light. I save the pasta for after I work out, when I can sit around and let it settle.

  5. I am a new runner and for my first race, I actually had pancakes the night before (healthy pancakes lol)

    Congrats on your half marathon!!!!!!

  6. Mmmm, Qdoba is one of my true fast food weaknesses. I know the burritos I get are loaded with calories, but that is one meal that I just don’t care… of course, I don’t eat it very often though either.

    I try to carb load with oatmeal, although I eat that a lot of mornings anyway, so I guess it isn’t really “loading”.

    Congrats on knocking out another mini!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

