Banana walnut chocolate chip pancakes

On Sunday morning, I like to make a special breakfast for myself, which usually means something like pancakes, waffles or French toast. This Sunday was no exception!

Believe it or not, I somehow managed to let myself run out of peanut butter (don’t worry, I have more now) so I had to work with what ingredients I had on hand.

What occurred was an amazing breakfast!

012
I used 1/4 + 1/8 cup of Hodgson Mill’s Buckwheat pancake mix. I added 1 tsp Ener-G egg replacer, 1/2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil, and 1/4 cup + a splash of unsweetened rice milk and combined.

I also smashed half a banana and put it in the pancake mix. I cooked them over medium heat until they were done and then topped them with chocolate chips, walnuts, the other half of the banana and syrup.

Even without peanut butter, this breakfast made my day!

Do you like to make a “special” breakfast on the weekends?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on April 26, 2010, in Breakfast and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Those look incredible!!! Thanks for your sweet comment and have a great day.

  2. Yums those look great! I love making special breakfasts on the weekends…

  3. Yeah, I love making special breakfasts when I have the time. That looks pretty much exactly like what I like to make. But, sometimes I will put the banana slices on the side, and sprinkle them with powdered sugar (just a little). It’s really good. I also LOVE peanut butter on pancakes (with syrup of course).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

