Pound for Pound: Weeks 9 & 10

Remember the Pound for Pound Challenge? I almost didn’t.

Between my slight mental breakdown, subsequent recovery and then illness/allergies, I managed not to post about the weigh-ins and my thoughts on the challenge for the past two weeks. Guess I had other things on my mind?

Last time we “met” I had decided to give up calorie counting for a while and focus on choosing wholesome nutritious foods and eating intuitively. This choice was even more liberating than the last few times I’ve made it. I think it might actually stick this time too.

I had also mentioned cutting back on caffeine, but I’m sorry to say this has not gone well. In fact, I think I may have actually increased consumption of coffee the past two weeks. But as the weather gets warmer, my cravings typically become fewer, so we’ll just see how it goes. No reason to stress about it ;-)

Speaking of stress, during Week 9, I was in the midst of a stress meltdown. But, even though I took a step back from blogging, I did not hide away and drown my sorrows in food. I also took a step back from exercise even though it was a week before my half marathon. Sometimes getting your mental state back on track is more important! No, it always is.

Stress, less exercise and Aunt Flo led to a slight weight gain for Week 9:

  • Week 8: 150.4
  • Week 9: 151 (+ 0.6)
  • 9.4 lbs to goal

But, during that following week, I had another major breakthrough. I finally admitted to myself (and others) that I do not handle stress well at all. Even if my mind tries to deny it or “fake it”, my body pays the price. I have to get control of what stresses me¬†and do more to relieve myself when stress does come up to that uncomfortable level.

I kept my focus on healthy eating, easy exercise, relaxing hot baths and putting my trust back in God. I remembered what is good about my life and what I can do to change the things I’m not so happy with.

I remembered that I’m only human and it is okay to break down sometimes. In fact, I think it might just be the best thing that could’ve happened. I’ve learned more about myself the past few weeks than I have in a long time.

I finished my school work early so I could focus on the race and nothing else. And I didn’t stress about my race either because I knew I was going to have fun, no matter what. And I did!

I took two days off of work this week¬†because I was feeling run down and sick. I gave my body the break it needed. Now I feel better, both mentally and physically. I’m in a really, really good place. Now if I can just stay here…

The weigh in on Monday was just a minor detail:

  • Previous week: 151 lbs
  • Week 10: 149 lbs (-2.0)
  • 7.4 lbs to goal (9 weeks to go)

With 9 weeks to go, I have absolutely no idea what will happen. In 10 weeks, I have a net loss of 2.6 lbs. So in the next 9, I could lose another 2.6, or 1.6, 0 or 10.

But you know what? It doesn’t really matter!

I’m not giving up on the challenge, in fact I’m still very inspired to keep going toward my goal. But I am NOT going to put myself under pressure. I am not going to stress about it. Because I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but when I’m under pressure and stressed, NOTHING goes well. I can’t live that way anymore.

Looking forward to what the rest of this week holds. If you missed past weeks and want to catch up, check out my Pound for Pound Challenge page :)

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on April 28, 2010, in challenges, Weight, weight loss. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Congrats on letting go of the pressure you’ve put on yourself. I have similar issues, not so much with loosing weight, but I obsess (and I do mean OBSESS) over not gaining weight. I count calories. I stress way out if I don’t get five workouts in each week. I always drink on the weekends, and stress out all throughout week to burn off those calories. I feel ya. Hang in there.

  2. You are SO GREAT to realize things about yourself that are difficult or that you want to change, or roll with. Recognizing the fact that you and stress aren’t bffs gives you quite the upper hand in dealing with it. That’s a good portion of the battle right there!

    Another thing I love is that you know who you are. Our pastor talked some on Sunday about this too. That we are exactly who God intended us to be. Some outgoing center of attention people, some shy…some athletic, some not…some bulky, some skinny…some tall, some short. I could go on and on, but his point is that WE ARE WHO GOD SAYS WE ARE. And we are absolutely perfect to HIM! And that’s all we need! And yes, we should strive to take good care of our physical bodies and minds, but always remembering that we are perfect in Christ Jesus. Ahhhhh, it feels almost relaxing doesn’t it?! Anyway, you are doing great and I’m praying for you! Love you sister;-)

  3. Stress really gets me as well. As soon as I get stressed, everything goes out the window. It’s something that I don’t handle well at all.

  4. I don’t handle stress very well, I usually shut down and close myself off…

    Yay you for letting go and not stressing over the scale but still continuing the challenge…no matter what happens you are still one of the healthiest girls I know!

  5. I’ve never handled stress well but everyone deals with it differently and it sounds like you’re finding some good ways to work through it! I know you can do it!

    let the pressure out and things will start to flow more easily :D

  1. Pingback: Pound for Pound: Week 11 « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

