The "welcome back" run

After the mini marathon on Saturday, I took three days of complete rest in order to recover, physically and mentally from the race. I’ve also been getting attacked by allergies since Monday but it has also helped me focus on properly recovering.

I am happy to say that I had absolutely no complaints or injuries to report following the race or the days after. I think this is because when things started to hurt, I slowed down and do what I knew my body could in that moment but didn’t push it too hard. I would rather have walked the last few miles of the race and risk a later finishing time than hurt myself. That’s just me ;-)

However, I was quite exhausted in general! So it was a welcome rest period.

By yesterday afternoon though, I was ready to get moving again! But I didn’t want to overdo it, so I did a short loop around the campus and lots of stretching afterwards. It was like giving myself a nice, gentle “Welcome back!” run.

  • Time: 14:31
  • Distance: 1.5 miles
  • Avg. pace: 9:41/mile

I remember in 2008, the first time I ran the Kentucky Derby Festival mini-Marathon, I took 2 weeks off from running because I had become burned out. Then I half-heartedly trained for a 5K at the end of May before giving up running totally for a while after that. We’re talking months.

I almost completely lost all that training. I could barely run a mile when I started again in the early months of 2009. I ended up walking the mini that year because my heart just wasn’t in running. I had to wait for that fire and passion to come back! Then in November 2009, I announced that I wanted to give running another shot and the rest is history :)

It took me what seems like forever to get back to this point, so I’m sure as heck not giving it up now!

I am planning on running a 5K at the Zoo next Saturday! I’m actually really excited that I can focus on my short runs again for a while. I’m hoping between the 5 or so races that I am doing this summer, I will see a PR in there. But if not, it will still be great fun :)

What is your typical rest period after a long race?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on April 29, 2010, in rest, running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Wow, you really are in the zone! I did my first half-marathon in March and took a whole week off afterwards! I also tend to take a few days off running before and after any important performances. Shorter races not so much; I’ll usually take the next day off and then continue regular training or even do an easy recovery run the next day.

  2. I love your dedication!!!!!!

    This morning I listened to my body…I was planning to do a 3 mile run but my legs were not having any of it since I ran ayer…I was only able to do a little over 2 miles…but it still felt great (AFTER I WAS DONE ha)

    thanks for always motivating me…

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention The “welcome back” run « River City Fitness -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

