The “30 Whole Days” Challenge

Tomorrow is May 1st. Do you know what that means?

Well around here it is Derby Day, but that’s not really my cup of tea.

Instead, I will be celebrating the first of the month by beginning the Happy Herbivore 30 Whole Days blogger challenge.

wholefoods

So, what’s the challenge? Eat no processed foods for 30 days!

Why would I want to do this challenge?

I like to think that I eat pretty “whole” already but there are still things that make their way into my pantry or freezer that are processed, like a frozen dinner here or a can of soup there. These will be easy to avoid.

But the real challenge is going to be the foods I didn’t even think of as being processed — like tofu, sweetened soy milk, and peanut butter that contains more than just peanuts!

I think it is important for all of us to reduce our intake of processed foods as much as possible. Even if they are “healthy” they still often contain added sugars, salt, and other additives that we just don’t need.

I also plan to take this opportunity to finally kick some nasty habits that keep creeping back into my life (diet soda, sugarless gum, etc). Perhaps I’ll even try to cut back on that second cup of coffee.

I have a lot of events coming up this month that are going to make things interesting. My birthday is next week and my best friend is going to make me vegan cupcakes! No way am I missing that. :)

I also have a few parties to go to for graduations, weddings, and whatnot. The good thing about parties though is there are usually fruit and vegetable trays and I can make and bring a dish or two.

I’m also going to exclude Wednesday night potluck dinners from the challenge because my girls have been accommodating enough since I went vegan in October, I don’t want to put any more pressure on them. I can make adjustments on my own, like skipping the bread or bringing fruit for dessert.

As the HH says herself, “the goal is not to make this so extreme it becomes impossible.” So I will just be doing the best that I can and hopefully learning a lot in the process (ha, no pun intended).

If you want to know more or are interested in joining this challenge yourself, check out this blog post or go directly to our Google Group and get ready!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on April 30, 2010, in challenges and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Wow that sounds like a great challenge! I am not sure if I would ever be able to cut out processed foods completely but yay you for at least trying!

  2. Wow, good luck! I saw that challenge earlier and decided I just wasn’t ready. Maybe your blog will inspire me at a later date, though. More power to you!

  3. Katherine: What About Summer?

    oh my goodness; it’s not May already is it? best with the challenge. It would definitely be a challenge for me!!!!
    Katherine

  4. Wow, what a challenge. I’d pretty much be screwed with my tofu and protein powder diet. :)

  5. What an awesome challenge! Maybe I need to do this?! I am trying to lose weight for my wedding…. I am sure if I kicked out the processed foods it could possibly help? Wouldn’t you think so?

    xo

  1. Pingback: Pound for Pound: Week 11 « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: Day 4: Oops! « See Sarah Eat

  3. Pingback: I’m not ready « See Sarah Eat

  4. Pingback: Healthier baked beans « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

