Exercise TV: Yoga Fitness Plus

Yesterday, I took a day off to spend the day with my husband, see a movie and attend a concert! But earlier in the day I took my dog for a 2 mile walk, so we both got some exercise :)

This afternoon, I sort of felt like taking a nap but instead, I decided to wake myself up with a invigorating yoga routine! I looked up the Exercise TV programs on my cable box and found Yoga Fitness Plus with Elise Gulan.

The program was really challenging, including a lot of strength and ab moves and a lot of advanced poses that I am not quite ready for. But the instructor would indicate what someone at a lower level can do.

Usually, I would get annoyed with a really vigorous yoga program and just turn it off but instead of getting frustrated, I just went down into child’s pose or stayed in downward facing dog when I felt like I needed a rest or couldn’t do what the instructor was demonstrating. This was the first time I had ever done that!

One thing I did not like about this program was that there was no relaxation at the end. After an intense workout, that is my favorite part! But it is definitely a good one to do if you are looking to work up a sweat and get your muscles on fire.

It felt really good to be doing yoga again after quite the (unintentional?) hiatus. I look forward to trying more programs and hopefully getting back into classes again soon!

Do you prefer yoga classes (or videos) or do you like to do your own flow?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 1, 2010, in Walking, yoga and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I mix it up, sometimes I do already planned routines or videos, but most of the time I just do my own thing. I also go to class as often as I can fir the group energy.

    I hope you can come back to class soon. I teach yin every Tuesday, and I’m subbing vinyasa on May 12. Plus, I teach the Sarurday class May 22 before the veg club mtg and book club. If you can come to that class we could run out for a quick lunch before the meeting!

  2. I like doing yoga stretches a lot after my runs. It helps stretch my legs out and keep the blood flowing. :)

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Exercise TV: Yoga Fitness Plus « River City Fitness -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Vitamins Health Carmen Travis » Exercise Tv: Yoga Fitness Plus River City Fitness

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

