Day 5: Let the celebrations commence!

Even though Wednesday was the day before my birthday, I still got to start celebrating early :)

Reason number 5,682 why I love my sweet, sweet husband:

He had heard me complaining about how terrible my blender has been lately and here I thought he never listened? Ha ha. He showed me! Check out the beautiful new green smoothie maker:


And good riddance old friend. You’ve worked well the last 4.5 out of 5 years but it’s time to retire now.


Anyone know what to do with old appliances? Can they be recycled?

Of course I celebrated my first birthday gift with a delicious green smoothie. Just look at it go!

I even spoiled myself and used the dispenser!


Result: A yummy, creamy, delicious green smoothie (1 cup almond milk, 1 frozen banana, 1 tbsp natural peanut butter, three handfuls of spinach).

I made sure to send my husband a message about how awesome this smoothie was and how much easier it is to make in a shiny new blender. I’m so spoiled!

Mid-morning, I had some tea and grapes.

Then for lunch, I sort of threw together a new combination. One thing I realized about this challenge is that even though there are a ton of recipes out there that I could use, I love being forced to come up with my own based on what’s in the pantry. It makes me so creative!

Chickpeas on top of a sweet potato, drizzled with salsa verde! Definitely interesting, but totally delicious and filling too. I also had an organic apple on the side :)

I snacked on some almonds before heading to the gym for an awesome treadmill run. Wow, those are three words I rarely put together, ha ha.

Then I went home, showered and got ready for girl’s night. I am so lucky to have such good friends who make me feel special!

For dinner, Margie made what is probably my favorite food ever…FALAFEL!

A pita pocket filled with lettuce, diced tomatoes, hummus, and falafel balls topped with tahini. Yesssssss!

Note: this meal is technically not challenged approved, but still very healthy, delicious and special because it was my birthday. I thoroughly enjoyed it, which goes back to that comment about enjoying stuff more when you don’t eat it every day.

I had this plate times two!

For my birthday dessert, per tradition, we had some pink bubbly!

And some yummy vegan cupcakes that Courtney made herself!

She was not happy with them, but I thought they were delicious. Sometimes things can look funny but actually taste great. Plus when a friend makes something special for you, it tastes even better, am I right?

She used this recipe, including a special strawberry glaze that was full of sugar but oh so tasty!


I enjoyed my birthday dessert, very very much :)

Thank you girls for giving me such a special night! I love you all :)

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 6, 2010, in birthday, Breakfast, challenges, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, products, Snacks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Happy birthday! It looks like you had/are having a good one :-)

  2. Oh you’re a May 6 baby too! Yay..it’s the best birthday ever. Enjoy your day!

  3. ChubbyNewlywed

    Happy birthday! As for the old appliances, yep, you can recyle them. Contact your local city hall for details. Or, if it’s still in workable order, you can do what I do — put it on Craigslist. I have given away a ton of stuff on CL (I’ve sold stuff, too, of course). I even managed to give away a broken breadmaker. It was missing a cheap part and I had several inquiries about it. People take anything for free!

  4. Those look like some good birthday eats! I remember when I received a new blender for Christmas years back how excited I was, everyone thought I was nuts but I wanted to make smoothies and berry teas, and had no blender!

    There is a store that’s been advertising that they will recycle used appliances. I want to say it’s Sears, but I’m not sure. You could call them and ask. Apparently they evaluate and re-sell in foreign countries appliances that still work, otherwise they recycle the parts properly.

  5. And happy belated birthday : x I always forget that part of the birthday-post comments!

  6. Happy Birthday! Looks like you had a wonderful celebration…and yes, falafel is the best food ever. Good b-day dinner choice!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Day 5: Let the celebrations commence! « See Sarah Eat -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

