Better veggie burgers too

I hope you guys enjoyed my post about healthier baked beans! I always get excited when I can find better and healthier alternatives to some of my favorite convenience foods :)

Another case in point…veggie burgers!

You may remember a post I wrote a while back about the deceptive nature of the processed veggie burger. They appear to be healthy (they are certainly better than meat) but they contain some really funky ingredients. Also frustrating for me, was when I went vegan, I found out that most of the frozen veggie burgers sold in supermarkets are NOT vegan friendly :(

I prefer to make my own “burgers” at home, such as Mama Pea’s Black Bean Burgers, or these awesome chickpea patties. I’ve even tried both recipes out on the girl’s at our potluck and they get rave reviews!

But there are times when making your own veggie burger is just not an option and you want something quick and tasty, but still healthy. I have a solution!

Sunshine Burgers are soy free, dairy free, wheat free and gluten free! This particular Garden Herb variety has an outstanding list of ingredients:


Organic cooked brown rice, organic ground raw sunflower seeds, organic carrots, organic herbs and sea salt. That is literally it!

So far, I have enjoyed one over some rice and topped with salsa verde…

And another time over a leafy Romaine salad, topped with artichoke and garlic hummus!

Sunshine has six different flavors, including a very lovely falafel burger, which I’ve had on many occasions :)

At my Whole Foods store, they are $3.99 for a box of three. This is just slightly more expensive than brands like Boca or Morningstar, which contain 4 burgers for the same price.

But, the taste is so much better and once again you just can’t beat that nutritional information and healthier ingredients list. Your body is worth an extra 34 cents per burger ;-)

I can’t wait to try the other four flavors (especially the Breakfast Patty)!

Note: I purchased this product on my own and was not paid to do a review by the company. I’m just so impressed with this product, I had to share it with you all.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 11, 2010, in products and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I’ve had the Sunshine breakfast patty and it is really good! I need to try the falafel ;)

  2. I haven’t tried those yet. I buy Dr.Praeger’s california veggie burgers, because I get them in bulk at Costco. Simple nutritional list also. I have to go thru my stash first before I try these.

  3. I’ve been meaning to try these but just couldn’t seem to get over the price tag. They are 5.99 at my Whole Foods! Whats with that? I’ll have to look around!

  4. yaaaaaaaaaay sunshine burgers! I don’t usually buy veggie burgers because I’m cheap, but they are definitely my fave :-)

  5. Sunshine burgers are baked not fried, most veggieburgers including Dr. Praegers are par fried and the grease removed by an air knife.

  1. Pingback: Joe’s Crab Shack Questions? | Uncategorized | A Useful Blog Which Have a Wealth of Information about Cancer !

  2. Pingback: Feeling squashy « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

