All by myself

On Thursday, I decided to go for it. I had a bunch of ingredients in my pantry that I wanted to use up and instead of searching for a recipe, I went and did my own thing!

It is so empowering to make your own food. I didn’t even measure anything, I just tossed in here, sprinkled there and so on. It was great!

What did I make? It contained these:

017 
With lots of other stuff too!

011
Black Bean & Sweet Potato Soup (Serves 4)

  • 1-15 oz. can of black beans
  • 2 medium sized sweet potatoes (partially cooked)
  • 1 can of petite diced tomatoes with green chiles
  • 2 cups of water
  • 1 small red onion, chopped
  • 1 tsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1.5 tsp minced garlic
  • A few shakes of chili powder
  • A shake of ground cumin
  • A few shakes of ground cinnamon
  • Salt & pepper to taste

Start by sauteeing the onion with the garlic and olive oil over medium-high heat. Then add the black beans, tomatoes (don’t drain) and 2 cups or so of water (depending on how “soupy” you like yours) while you cook the sweet potatoes (I did mine together for 4 minutes in the microwave).

Cut up the sweet potatoes and toss them into the pot. Let cook for a few minutes, then reduce the heat to low-medium and cover for 15 minutes. Add the spices, salt and pepper, re-cover and let sit an additional 10 minutes or so.

010 
I can’t believe how good this turned out! It was a even a little spicy ;-) The cinnamon was also a really good idea.

012 
I enjoyed a serving along with some pita with hummus and an orange juice-seltzer drink :)

016
I have another serving for a later date plus two in the freezer!

Have you ever surprised yourself by “winging it” with creating a meal?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 16, 2010, in Dinner, recipes, soup and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Wow that looks really good! I bet it would be good with some biscuits ;)

  2. That’s amazing! I don’t think I would be adventurous to put black beans and sweet potatoes together, but I do love throwing things together as a meal. I try not to plan my meals because of it!

  3. I must own 20 cookbooks and I have never once made a ‘real’ recipe from one of them! I wing it all the time. Sometimes it’s fab, other times I say to myself “that was not worth all those calories”. It is a great feeling when the meal turns out better than expected! Anything with black beans and tomatoes is fab, you can’t mess it up!! Love the soup idea.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention All by myself « See Sarah Eat -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: The value of meal planning « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

