Happy date at Simply Thai

On Saturday evening, my husband decided he would rather go out to eat instead of cooking at home, which I wasn’t too happy about at first.

But I decided it would be a nice date night for us, just one problem…we have the hardest time finding new places to go eat that suit both of our dietary preferences! I’m vegan; he likes meat and not many vegetables. Go!

Luckily, after much research, eye-rolling and heavy sighs, we found Simply Thai, a small local Thai restaurant (Voted Best of Louisville!) with plenty of dishes for both of us to choose from. Josh pointed out that almost everything is vegan, unless you add meat to it ;-)

I got the Pineapple Curry with Tofu, level 3 spiciness (on a scale of 1-5).

tofu
The taste was perfect. Sweet, spicy, creamy and delicious. I need to make this at home :)
simplythai2

Each dish came with white rice, which isn’t my first choice, but I happily stirred some into my dish as I ate it.

As you can see, it was just awful…ha ha.

ihatedit
For dessert, we had a BOGO coupon for Bruster’s Real Ice Cream, which luckily had some delicious Strawberry sorbet for this vegan wife to enjoy (he had cake batter ice cream). :)

Bruester's

I haven’t had sorbet since I had a tooth pulled back in December (and could only eat mushy foods) so it was a nice treat.

While I think it would be awesome if my husband ate the same way I did, since that is not happening anytime soon, it was nice to have a night out that satisfied both of us.

Does your partner eat the same way as you? Or is it a challenge to find places to go together?

Simply Thai on Urbanspoon

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 17, 2010, in Dessert, dining, Dinner, restaurants and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Well, I can’t tell you any answers to your questions, but I love Simply Thai and miss it!

    • Hey Kim! Didn’t mean to leave ya out! The question could apply to other family and friends as well. I don’t just struggle with my husband’s diet but also my entire family, I’m the only really health conscious one and vegan on top of that ;-) Luckily my friends will eat my “hippie” food, they are good sports!

  2. Me and my girlfriend eat almost identical. so it’s really easy to decide on a meal.

    I love Thai :)

  3. My wife and I have pretty similar tastes, except that I like my food to be much spicier. :)

    Do you ever go to Havana Rumba? I’m not sure how many vegan options they have, but that is one of our favs.

    We love thai food also. We recently tried Thai Orchids off of Taylorsville and Hurstbourne. They have coupons on Restaurant.com, so you can eat there really cheap, and the food and service were excellent.

  4. I think almost all vegan-friendly places in Louisville have meat offerings too. The only veggie-only places are Zen Garden (and Teahouse) and Swan Dive. Thai food is always good choice.

  5. My boyfriend is a hardcore omni too! He rarely eats anything I cook because he’s so picky. He’ll only eat tofu if its fried, and he prefers to eat crap … like steak, fish sticks, canned beef stew, etc. I keep thinking I’ll convert him one day, but we’ve been together for 6 years and it hasn’t happened yet. I think I need to road trip him to a farm sanctuary … maybe that would help. We typically always go for Asian food when we eat out since Asian joints typically have options for both of us, but I’m also a HUGE fan of Ruby Tuesday’s kick-ass salad bar.

  6. Aw yay I am glad you were able to find a place to eat…I read your tweets that night and you were getting frustrated lol

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Happy date at Simply Thai « See Sarah Eat -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: The value of meal planning « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

