My first vegan cupcakes

My friend Renee got me this sweet cookbook for my birthday a couple of weeks ago:

I flipped through it really quick when I first got it, but I knew that there were some awesome recipes in here that I couldn’t wait to try. Some friends of ours from church just had a baby, so I decided I would make some vegan cupcakes to take to them!

I chose the Carrot Cake Cupcakes with Vegan Cream Cheese Icing to make for them, because these are also Josh’s favorite and I thought it would be a good opportunity for him to try them out too (I omitted the raisins on his behalf).

The recipe was really simple and easy to follow. The worst part was grating the carrots but only because I have a cheapo grater and it wasn’t working too well. I only had to buy a couple of ingredients that I didn’t already have (soy yogurt and vegan cream cheese).

I followed the recipe exactly (except for the raisins) but for some reason, I only managed to fill up 11 cups! If a baker’s dozen is 13, what is 11?

While they were baking in the oven, my apartment smelled so good!

Making the icing was fun and I even tried a little bit of it beforehand…whoa is it sweet! A little bit goes a long way with this stuff which is why I had a lot left over even after icing 11 cupcakes.

I decided to go ahead and try one for myself, so I would know whether anyone else would eat them. I had some organic strawberries on the side. I even used my fancy dessert plates from Pampered Chef that have just been sitting around forever!


I thought the cupcake was absolutely delicious! It was soft, moist and tasty. To me, it tasted just as good as a “regular” cupcake. I loved the icing which added just the right amount of sweetness and creaminess to the cupcake. I couldn’t wait for Josh to try one.


Josh tried one later in the night and remarked: “It’s not that they aren’t good. They just have no flavor.” WHAT?! He also said he didn’t like the walnuts in there, when walnuts are one of the few things he does eat. Ugh.

So I replied: “Well, then, you have no tastebuds!” Ha ha. Oh well, someday I will get him, someday.

I haven’t yet heard if the couple I took them to liked them or not, but they were big fans of the vegan meatloaf I made (recipe). So I’m hopeful! ;-)

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 21, 2010, in Cookbooks, Dessert, recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Those cupcakes look delicious. I still remember my first vegan cupcakes… my copy of the book is now falling apart it’s been used so much. Doubly awesome is the fact that it includes two gluten-free recipes, since I have a friend whose little girl is allergic to wheat. This way we can all indulge in the same yummy cupcakes!

  2. Those cupcakes are awesome!! I love that book. Try the Mint Chocolate Cupcakes for your husband next……if he doesn’t like those there’s something SERIOUSLY WRONG with him!!!

    Unfortunately Sarah, I hate to say it, but I have a feeling it’s just him being resistant to veganism. And, perhaps his palate is a little bit dulled due to heavily seasoned foods and over cooked meat.

    Keep trying Sarah, he’ll come around one day.

  3. That book changed my life. Before I owned VCTOTW, I didn’t care much for sweets. And then I started baking vegan cupcakes and I cannot get enough sweets! Guess my tastebuds had changed and I didn’t realize it until vegan cupcakes entered my life.

    I haven’t made the carrot cupcakes from the book (though I’ve made other vegan carrot cake recipes). I’ll have to try that one. I’m sure it’s delicious!

    As for Josh, I wouldn’t let it get to ya. My boyfriend says things like that about stuff that I make that I KNOW is delicious. I bet ya if Josh didn’t know they were vegan, he’d like ‘em. People tend to have weird prejudices about vegan food for some reason.

  4. I love your blog!
    The cupcakes look amazing and so does the cookbook!
    That’s too bad your bf doesn’t like them- everyone has different taste though- I can only imagine they taste great- esp with the walnuts!

  5. I feel you on the boyfriend critique – my boyfriend always asks “are these REAL” now when I bake, which I always say yes to, although I know he means “do they have eggs/butter”. I think some guys are just biased, just keep baking you’ll show him!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention My first vegan cupcakes « See Sarah Eat -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Creative Ideas for Cupcakes and Cakes | RecipeLionBlog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

