Vegan cream cheese

It has been a long time since I have had a bagel with cream cheese.

When I first went vegan, back in October of last year, I didn’t really have an interest in too many “fake” products that replaced what I might eat if I wasn’t vegan. But after having banana oats every day for a straight week, I decided I needed a different breakfast to change things up a bit.

It just so happens, I also needed this for a recipe too, so I said “Why not?”

Another thing I had been missing that I wasn’t really aware of were meatless breakfast patties. The Morningstar brand used to be my favorite (ooh, the maple flavor!) but unfortunately, they are not even close to being vegan and have an ingredients list a paragraph long.

These Yves patties were on sale at Whole Foods, so I decided to try them out (they still don’t have the best ingredients list but at least they got all the animal products out):

The result?


I could not tell a difference at all in the Tofutti cream cheese; it tasted just like regular cream cheese to me! I love that I was able to eat a bagel with cream cheese, not get a stomach ache from it and no animals were harmed in the process! ;-)

The meatless patties weren’t the best I’ve ever had but they definitely satisfied my craving. They are also low in sugar and contain some fiber and protein, which is good for satiety. I’m thinking I should try to make my own next time!

What is your favorite “faux” product?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 21, 2010, in Breakfast, products and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Gardein products are satisfying for when I need a little oomph or ease! Tal Ronnen is a genius when it comes to meatless options. These are all convenience items so I don’t buy them too often, but they’re definitely worth the try. I’ve liked everything I’ve tried so far. Yum!

  2. The tofutti cream cheese sounds like a great vegan substitution!

    I like turkey bacon rather than pork, so I guess that’s the best “faux” product that I’ve tried.

  3. So I totally am indifferent to the tofutti plain cream cheese, but am IN LOVE with and always keep stocked their French Onion cream cheese. It’s my weekend bagel topper of choice, check it out! I’m also way bummed about the morningstar lack of vegan options – however I’m starting to find some better replacements. Boca crumbles instead of morningstar crumbles do the job, fyi! :)

  1. Pingback: Worthy replacement « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

