Making vegan pizza

At our Wednesday night potluck this week, it was my turn to bring the main dish and I finally made something I’d been wanting to make since I went vegan…pizza!

I started off with a store bought organic whole wheat crust from Whole Foods.

Picture 298

I brushed each crust with a little extra virgin olive oil and spread it with tomato sauce sprinkled with garlic and oregano.

Then I started adding the toppings, including this meatless pepperoni:

Picture 299

And Daiya cheese, which is all the rage in the vegan realm right now!

Picture 297

Veggie toppings (all organic) included: mushrooms, green peppers, onion, olives…I think that was it. ;)

Before going into the oven!

Picture 296

I baked each pizza (at 400 degrees) for about 17 minutes to melt the cheese and when the edges of the crust were crispy.

Picture 303

Before I went home to start making the pizza, I stopped at the store to get some supplies in order to transport them to my friend’s house.

One fit into this cake carrier perfectly, best idea ever!

Picture 301
And the other one stayed on the baking sheet and got wrapped with this, another very cool invention.

Picture 304
Finally, served for dinner, alongside some romaine salad.

Picture 305
It tasted great! The veggies were firm, the faux pepperoni was crisp, and the cheese tasted very cheesy! My only disappointment was that the crust did not get as firm as I would’ve liked. The edges were crunchy but the rest of it was still rather soft.

But everyone really seemed to like it. Between the 5 of us girls, both pizzas disappeared!

I highly recommend the Daiya cheese. It’s not quite the same, but it does have a very cheesy taste and it melts really well, unlike some other non-dairy cheeses on the market.

I can’t wait to use it in lasagna and some other recipes soon!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 22, 2010, in Dinner, potluck, products, recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Yummy :) Even without using the meat and cheese alternatives, I love vegan pizza! Carrabba’s makes a really yummy one with roasted veggies and fried eggpant. Mmmmm!!

  2. Yummy! As you’ve probably seen I LOVE pizza. I always think about getting the pepperoni for it but never seem to get around to it- it looks so good on yours!

  3. that looks really good! good choice of products!
    I saw that Yves product in the grocery store and was wondering if I should purchase it!

  4. Seriously looks delicious! I made pizza last night too – but it wasn’t quite as yummy looking as yours!!

  5. Daiya, daiya! Such an accomplishment in vegan cheese! Pizza possibilities are endless. It looks phenomenal!

  6. Did you REALLY like the “pepperoni”? I brought it a couple of weeks ago and ended up tossing out most of it out….

  7. Looks great! I love finding healthier alternatives for recipes from my meat-eating days.
    For your crust – try baking it alone for a few minutes before adding the toppings. This should take care of the sogginess issue :-)

  1. Pingback: Worthy replacement « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: Tofurky Pizza and Blog Evolution « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

