Waggin' Trail 5k

This past Saturday, I did another 5k! Well, not exactly. While there was a run that morning, I chose to stick with the walkers. A really cute one, in particular.

IMG00196-20100522-0945.jpg

Suzie and I participated in the Kentucky Humane Society‘s annual Waggin’ Trail 5k which raises money for the animals they care for at the facilities. It was our second year participating and last year was so much fun, we knew we had to do it again!

It’s a really neat event with lots of different boths where you can get things for your pet, including having them microchipped. One of our local radio stations was also there giving away prizes. Check out the crowd!

IMG00195-20100522-0945.jpg

They also had plenty of doggie pools sitting out because it was quite warm and sunny that morning!

IMG00200-20100522-0953.jpg

Suzie met up with her friends Bo and Bailey, who all did some sniffing while us humans waited for the walk to start.

IMG00198-20100522-0953.jpg

After waiting around in the shade for what seemed like forever, the walk finally started. Let’s go!

Dog walk

The walk/run was held at Iroquois Park here in Louisville, which is known for it’s major hills! You may have seen these a time or two if you’ve ever participated in the Papa John’s 10-miler or the Kentucky Derby Festival mini-Marathon. They are quite challenging!

We finished in about an hour (1:02:06), which was pretty good for the course, the dogs and the crowd.

IMG00203-20100522-1103.jpg

Suzie walked the whole time! I guess because she sniffed all the way from the car to the park, she got it out of the way because she didn’t stop once. But I think she wore herself out too. It usually takes her an hour to walk 2 miles and she did 3.1!

IMG00204-20100522-1133.jpg

It was an awesome day and I can’t wait to do it again next year. The Kentucky Humane Society is where we got Suzie almost 2 years ago, so it holds a special place in our hearts. She is seriously the sweetest, most loving dog and though we still don’t know how anyone could’ve ever given her up, we’re glad they did! :)

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 25, 2010, in races, Walking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. How fun! I would love to participate in an event like that with my mom’s dog. She was adopted from a Humane society too.

  2. Hooray for rescue babies! :D My love is also a pound puppy and for me personally, my dogs will always either come from the shelter or a breed rescue group. What a fun event!

  3. Looks fun. Wish I could have made it. :(

    We got one of our dogs from the HS too. I bet she would have enjoyed seeing her old friends. Our other dog we rescued too, but not from HS.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

