No more holding back

Yesterday it was a steamy 89 degrees and sunny. Since I’m still not motivated to get up and run before work, I spent another session on the treadmill yesterday afternoon.

I realized, after warming up for 5 minutes and then jogging for a while at 5.0, that if I can run 9:30-10:00/miles outside, surely I can run faster than 12:00/mile on the treadmill. I think I always approach the treadmill afraid of doing that for some reason.

I pretty much stick to short runs on there but somehow I’m always afraid I’m going to tire out too quickly if I run fast. So yesterday I decided to test myself.

I did 0.25 mile laps, gradually increasing my speed on each one.

  • Lap 1 – 5.0 mph
  • Lap 2 – 5.3 mph
  • Lap 3 – 5.6 mph
  • Lap 4 – 5.9 mph
  • Lap 5 – 6.2 mph
  • Lap 6 – 6.5 mph
  • Lap 7 – 6.8 mph
  • Lap 8: Started at 7.1 (sprinted at 7.5 the last 0.12 miles)

I ended up finishing the 2 miles in 19:55 (9:58/mile) and even though I was sweaty, I was not the least bit tired. Even doing a whole lap at each of those high speeds was not too much for me. I was letting my head get in the way!

(Image Source)

Even though I prefer to run outside, I can’t wait to use the treadmill for more speed workouts. Who knows, I might even be able to increase my speed on runs from now on?

I’m also happy to report that my arm is feeling much better. I must’ve just overdone it the last time I lifted weights. I will be more careful from now on!

Hope you all have a great weekend :)

p.s. I am running another 5k tomorrow :)

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 28, 2010, in running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I know what you mean about being afraid of tiring out too quickly. It seems so much harder for me to get a good stride/rhythm on the treadmill. Great job on increasing the speed for each of those laps. I would like to try something like that!

    I’ll be out there tomorrow too! Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

