Run for the L of it 2010

This morning, my alarm went off at 5:45. It was time to get ready for yet another 5k race!

Run for the L of it

Run for the L

My friend Farrah was at a motorcycle driving class, so I ran by myself again today. In many ways, I prefer that but sometimes it is nice to have a friend there to push you! I missed her today.

This was a smaller race so I was able to walk up to the start line just a few minutes before the gun went off. The weather was warm but not too hot.

5-29-10

Start

When I started, I remembered my run on the treadmill two days ago and I knew that I could go faster than I thought I could. So I started out at a moderate (for me) pace.

I ran the first mile in 9:30, the second in 9:25. I was right on track to beat my PR of 29:28.

But somewhere toward the end, I must have slowed down because once I saw the finish line for the first time, it was 28-something and I thought I was golden. I picked up the pace and sprinted to the finish but somehow I missed the PR by seconds!

  • Distance: 3.1 miles
  • Time: 29:39 (11 seconds, ahhh!)
  • Avg. Pace: 9:34/mile

While I was a bit disappointed for getting that close to beating my time and just barely missing it, I still had a great time and felt really proud of myself for finishing another race feeling great!

My next race is June 12 (two weeks) and it’s a 5-miler at Iroquois Park. Time to start working on my mileage!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 31, 2010, in races, running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

