Mama Pea’s slow cooker BBQ tofu

One of my favorite blogs to read every day is Peas and Thank You. The fabulous “Mama Pea” has some excellent recipes (which are vegan) on her blog along with photos of her two adorable girls and tons of hilarious prose.

A few weeks couple of months ago, I saw her make tofu in the slow cooker. Since I am always looking for new ways to enjoy one of my favorite protein sources, I decided I had to try it myself!

Plus, I have two slow cookers and they don’t get used nearly enough.

I drained and pressed the tofu and then sort of just broke it apart as I placed it into the slow cooker. Then I poured in some of this!

Picture 277

Then I went to work and let it sit in the slow cooker on “low” for about 9 hours. It’s nice to have dinner cooking for you while you are at work!

023

I decided to serve it in a pita pocket as a tofu barbecue sandwich.

024

Mama Pea never disappoints me! I loved it. :) The Annie’s maple BBQ sauce is amazing too!

Later in the week, I had it leftover on a salad.

040

I might’ve liked it even better the second time.

BBQ Tofu salad

What is your favorite way to cook tofu?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on June 3, 2010, in Dinner, Lunch, products, recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I haven’t tried tofu in the slow cooker yet but I like it pressed, cubed and then sauteed in the organic teriyaki sauce from costco! Yum!

  2. Another reason for me to get a slow cooker…I thought that since I was giving up meat, I would not want one anymore but you PULLED ME BACK IN! ha

  3. I’m like Mari, I thought I would never need a slow cooker because vegan food just cooks faster…but that tofu looks AMAZZZING!

  4. If you like to use the slow cooker (Yes, please!) then you really need to check out “Fresh from the Vegetarian Slow Cooker” by Robin Robertson. All her recipes that I’ve tried so far have been amazing! I will tell you upfront, however, that many of the recipes require some cooking before being tossed into the cooker. It is not as simple as dumping a piece of meat with veggies and water and letting it go (although some ARE that simple) Regardless, I have tried some of the recipes both ways. Even if the recipe calls for cooking some ingredients before putting in the cooker (usually sauteeing onion/garlic, things like that), I don’t and it still comes out delicious!

  5. Hmm never tried it in a slow cooker… Looks good!

    My favorite way to eat it is baked with a peanut sauce!

  6. I have never tried cooking tofu in a slow cooker. I have the cookbook Jennifer mentioned and it’s got a lot of great soups and stews — my mom gave it to me along with a slow cooker as a gift — but I’ve never slow-cooked tofu. Usually I pan or wok fry it, quickly, in a small amount of oil. I’ll have to look into this, though!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

