Protein powders

Since I am back to working out a lot more these days, especially with Body Pump classes becoming a regular part of my routine, I have been experimenting more with different protein sources so I can be sure to consume some after a workout to rebuild my muscles.

I’ve found a lot of new things to try recently that I’ve really enjoyed. But, one thing I’ve not yet been able to get right is protein powder.

For one thing, it’s kind of hard to find good, vegan brands. Our Whole Foods doesn’t carry very many and I found a container of soy protein powder on sale at Walmart only to find out it contains a milk ingredient. What the heck?!

I have tried a few recently that I found at Amazing Grace (I should shop there more often)!

031

After a workout one evening, I decided to mix this up with some almond milk and leftover (cold) decaf coffee. I made an iced coffee/protein shake :)

030

It tasted alright. Actually it tasted good but I can never seem to get the protein powder to blend very well. I know some recommend that you don’t even use the blender but shake it by hand. To me, that just tastes worse. I’ve done it!

032

I also tried the chocolate, which I believe I have had before. Once again, it was okay, but is there any way to not have it taste so chalky?

019

020

I think for the time being, I am just going to stick to other sources of protein. I even bought a few Odwalla protein drinks since I stink at making my own, ha ha.

Do you use protein powders? Any recommendations?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on June 16, 2010, in products, Snacks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I love Jay Robb’s Brown Rice protein powder. Let me check if I have any extra and I’ll send you some!

  2. I like Egg White Protein Powder but I don’t think that’s Vegan! I guess I’ve never looked for Vegan types, but more for different flavors that aren’t chalky. J RobB seems to be my favorite.

  3. Jay Robb vanilla rice protein is my favorite. It’s made from sprouted brown rice. It has a nice consisent flavor that’s not too overwhelming.

  4. Whoops, I didn’t see Amanda’s post. ;)

  5. Jay Robb brown rice protein powder is awesome. It is a little pricey, so I try to limit how much I use it, but it tastes REALLY good.

  6. This stuff is boss: http://www.plantfusion.us/ – Amazing Grace used to carry it, they still might. That place will also special order anything you want and you can get 10% off a case, so for instance that soy yogurt you love could be acquired in bulk for cheaper.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

