Amy’s saves the day

A few weeks ago, our girl’s night group started doing a weekly Bible study in addition to the regular eating and movie-watching that we do together on Wednesday nights.

The book we have been using, Ruth by Kelly Minter, includes a recipe for dinner each week which Beth, our host and leader, has decided to cook for everyone.

Unfortuntely, only one of them is vegetarian and none are vegan. But I really don’t mind making a little extra effort so that I can still eat with my girlfriends and still be able to stick with my personal dietary preferences.

The meal the first week of our study was chicken enchiladas. My friend Ashley was kind enough to bring some extra rice for me that was vegan friendly and I just had to come up with what to eat for my main course.

I think I was going to grab a non-dairy burrito but then I just so happened to find these one day when I was walking around Target. And they were on clearance!

025

It was so nice to be able to eat basically the same thing as my friends only more suitable for me :)

026

The enchiladas were very tasty and filling, I probably could’ve eaten just one but I was starving at the time so I inhaled them. Absolutely delicious!

Check out these nutritionals:

Nutritional Facts
Serving Size: 1  
Servings Per Container: 2
Serving Weight: 135 g
Calories: 160
Calories from Fat:50
% Daily Value
Total Fat: 6g 9%
  Saturated Fat: 0.5g 3%
  Trans Fat: 0g  
Cholesterol: 0mg 0%
Sodium: 390mg 16%
Carbohydrates: 22g 7%
  Fiber: 3g 12%
  Sugars: 2g  
Protein: 5g
0%  
Organic: 90%
 
Vitamin A: 8% • Vitamin C: 10%
Calcium: 8% • Iron: 8%

Black Bean Vegetable Enchilada
INGREDIENTS : (VEGAN) FILTERED WATER, ORGANIC CORN TORTILLAS (ORGANIC WHITE CORN COOKED IN WATER WITH A TRACE OF LIME), ORGANIC TOMATO PUREE, ORGANIC ZUCCHINI, ORGANIC TOFU (FILTERED WATER, ORGANIC SOYBEANS, NIGARI[MAGNESIUM CHLORIDE, A NATURAL FIRMING AGENT]), ORGANIC BLACK BEANS, ORGANIC YELLOW CORN, ORGANIC ONIONS, EXPELLER PRESSED HIGH OLEIC SAFFLOWER OIL, ORGANIC SWEET RICE FLOUR, ORGANIC BELL PEPPERS, SPICES, TAPIOCA FLOUR, BLACK OLIVES, SEA SALT, ORGANIC GARLIC, ORGANIC GREEN CHILES. CONTAINS SOY.

Dairy FreeCholesterol FreeLactose FreeVeganKosherTree Nut Free

I’m becoming a big fan of Amy’s products more and more these days. Yes, they are processed but the ingredients are all good and I love that everything is vegetarian and many things are vegan and organic too.

Thanks Amy’s, you saved the day! :)

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on June 18, 2010, in Dinner, products and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I’m a fan of the Amy’s products too. I fell in love with their veggie pot pie pocket when I was in college, and it’s been an on and off relationship with them ever since.

    I would think that social settings would be the hardest part of being vegan. I know it’s always been the hardest part of being a vegetarian for me, but I would think it would be much harder to go all the way to vegan. Kudos to you!

  2. I like some Amy’s stuff too. Sometimes you need a quick meal, and she’s got some good options. Could you and your vegetarian friend team up to make your dishes? Seems like a perfect opportunity to show a vegetarian that vegan is a step up! (I was vegetarian for so long, now I think of it as my pre-vegan stage. I wish I’d had someone help me along.)

  3. livelaughlovehopeeat

    No Way! One of those enchilada’s is only 160 cals??? That’s amazing. And I love that they are vegan. I have just recently become vegetarian…. and if it weren’t for cottage cheese, yogurt, and skim milk, I’d be vegan. I don’t think I will do that. My parents are already pressuring me into chicken because it’s “healthy”.
    Do you have people pressure you into eating things that aren’t vegan? How do you explain why you are doing it?

  4. I am obsessed with Amy’s Enchalada! I love love love the cheese one….I think I have 1 Amy’s product every week lol

  5. BTW thank you so much for your comment on my post…it made me tear up! you are so great!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

