Whole wheat gnocchi

It seems like I have been trying a lot of new things here recently but I am not complaining. In fact, I feel like it has given me a wealth of blog material, which is always a good thing ;-)

So I found this one day when I was shopping at World Market and I knew I had to try it!

001

Gnocchi is a type of pasta, sort of like a dumpling, and this particular variety was made with sweet potato. I had never had gnocchi before and couldn’t wait to give it a try!

003

I topped mine with some chunky garden pasta sauce, a diced veggie burger and some nutritional yeast, which makes for a great parmesan cheese substitute (and adds a little bit of protein).

005

It had a very chewy texture, almost sticky (which may have been my cooking of it) but I liked the flavor a lot. It wasn’t sweet like a sweet potato but it also wasn’t as dry and grainy as some whole wheat pastas I’ve had.

004

It also has a lower calorie content than pasta and didn’t leave me feeling as full and bloated as I tend to when I eat it. It also cooked a lot faster!

I think just for the sake of experimentation, I would try the “regular” kind and experiment a little more with my  toppings and mix-ins.

This box provided 2-3 servings and cost me $1.50. Some pastas are cheaper than that (per serving) but it was a nice, inexpensive break from the usual ;-)

Have you had gnocchi?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on June 21, 2010, in Dinner, products and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Gnocchi is my all time favorite pasta :)

  2. one of my fave child hood memories were of my bff’s grandmother making fresh gnocchi for us, after school….I love them!

    I got some coconut water the other day and thought of you…I still have not tried it yet…

  3. I really want to have gnocchi over here (I’m currently in Italy). And I’m sure it would taste incredible, as this is the birthplace of the dish. But darnit, I can’t seem to find gnocchi anywhere without cheese coming with it.

  4. I like gnocchi, and I was also surprised by how the sweet potato variety didn’t taste much like sweet potatoes. I guess I shouldn’t have been, though, because regular gnocchi doesn’t taste exactly like potatoes either.

    I am jealous you have a World Market! All the ones here closed.

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Gnocchi « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

