Alternatives to traditional pasta

I don’t eat pasta very often because I tend to eat too much and then I’m left feeling bloated and uncomfortable. I think a lot of that has to do with the type of pasta you eat, in that “traditional” pasta makes me feel the worst.

Traditional American pasta, that is. Which means, when I say “traditional” I mean white pasta out of the box.


Image Source

Traditional pasta may taste the best to some of you, but lacks a lot of nutrition some of it’s alternatives offer.

Whole grain styles like Barilla are better (much more fiber and protein) but perhaps my favorite alternative to pasta overall is spaghetti squash. But it’s so not in season right now.

Also, I’m into trying new things these days, so I picked up a box of brown rice pasta to see what it was all about.

The Lundberg brown rice spaghetti is gluten free, organic, vegan, non-GMO verified and made from 100% whole grain brown rice. In fact, the only ingredient is “organic brown rice flour.”

The nutritionals are somewhere between “traditional” and whole grain pasta. You get 4 grams each of protein and fiber per serving and the calories are the same as traditional pasta. It takes a few minutes longer to cook but looks surprisingly similar when ready.

While I expected (and kind of hoped) the pasta would be a little more “grainy” than it was, I found it to be a really great alternative.

In fact, I really couldn’t tell much of a difference, other than the “noodles” were a bit softer before cooking than traditional spaghetti noodles are (hard and crunchy).

And I definitely didn’t get a stomach ache from eating this bowl!

If you or anyone you know anyone that has Celiac disease or eats gluten free for other reasons but misses pasta, get this stuff! :)

Disclaimer: I bought this product with my own money and was not paid by the company to provide a review. This is my opinion based on my own personal experience and taste.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on June 25, 2010, in Dinner, products and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I love brown rice pasta :)

  2. I like brown rice and whole wheat pasta in small form (penne, fusilli) but I haven’t found any spaghetti I like besides semolina. I’ll have to look for this brand. I’ve also tried making my own pasta — but no luck so far.

  3. Pasta has always been one of my weaknesses…thankfully I love the taste of Whole Wheat or Whole Grain pasta =)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

