Earth Balance and Fakin’ Bacon

When I decided to go vegan back in October, I learned that Smart Balance Light was a buttery spread that fit right in with my dietary preferences so I have been using that for a while now.

I mostly use it on sweet potatoes, some veggies, on warm toasted bread. Like 1 tsp at a time! So containers last me forever. I also occasionally use it in what little baking I do these days ;-)

But recently, my last container of SBL ran out and I decided it was finally time to try what I hear so many of my vegan blogger friends brag about…EARTH BALANCE!

I was amazed at the variety there was to choose from (even at Walmart!) but I decided to start with the basic natural buttery spread. It is soy free, vegan and a good source of Omega 3’s.

Earth Balance has more calories per serving than Smart Balance Light, but it also has fewer ingredients. And I have found the two to be quite different!

I first used Earth Balance on a sweet potato I had with dinner one night this week.

I was amazed at how well and quickly it melted. Plus it had a very light “buttery” taste (for lack of a better word).

I next tried it on an English muffin, which I also topped with some preserves.

It tasted so good and the preserves didn’t cover it up at all. It melted on there perfectly.

Okay, so here’s what I have determined: Smart Balance Light is a vegan substitute for MARGARINE. Earth Balance is vegan BUTTER. There is a difference and your personal preference will determine which one you use more of.

I think I’m sticking with this one for a while. It melts better, tastes better and you can cook with it. Smart Balance was always so hard to blend in with baking ingredients.

Oh! I almost forgot…wondering what that bacon-like food is up there?

You guys remember how I recently tried tempeh and loved it so much (that I haven’t had tofu since then)?

Well, my friend Sam highly recommended that I try the Fakin’ Bacon which are smoky tempeh strips that you cook on the stove and serve up with breakfast (or in vegan BLTs, which I’m so going to have to try next).


They kind of fell apart on me a little bit and I wasn’t able to get them very crispy but that was because I got impatient and wanted to eat them!

They tasted great though and I think next time I will just cook them a little longer to desired crispiness. I love tempeh!!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on June 25, 2010, in Breakfast, products and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I haven’t had butter in almost forever, but this week I felt the urge to have a crusty Italian roll with a pat of butter. So delish! I’m not wanting to use real butter on a regular basis, though, so I’m definitely game to try out this Earth Balance!

  2. I love the Earth Balance spread! I started buying it a while back, and was very impressed with the flavor and how it melted, so most of the time, that’s what I buy now.

    I have GOT to try tempeh. I may have had it in something, but I have never personally cooked it, so I don’t even know what it tastes like or what the texture is. Thanks for reminding me that I need to buy some when I go to the store this weekend.

  3. I LOVE Earth Balance. I didn’t know that about Smart Balance Light…think I’ll try it since it’s fewer calories. Or not! lol

    I haven’t tried tempeh yet (just went vegan about a month ago) and I try to limit soy (thyroid issues) but I will give this product a try. IF I can find it in stores around here…

  4. holy crap i uberly love BACON!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Earth Balance and Fakin’ Bacon « See Sarah Eat -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Why I’m giving up soy « See Sarah Eat

  3. Pingback: Worthy replacement « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

