Lazy eggplant

Since I’ve been staying pretty busy during the week with social and exercise commitments, I have been using a lot of “convenience” foods so that I can still eat healthy foods that I love but not have to spend time in the kitchen that I just don’t have right now.

Eggplant is one of my favorite foods and unfortunately, I haven’t had the time or patience to make an eggplant dish from scratch in quite a while. But fortunately, I found this little product at Fresh Market and it is amazing!

002

When I picked this up, I totally expected it to have egg in it since it’s breaded, but after reading the ingredients and noticing the little “Vegan” with a checkmark note on the bottom right corner, I knew this was sold!

It’s kind of weird though that they have a picture of cheese melting on it. Oh well, I guess it could be Daiya ;-)

It cooks really quickly too. I heated up two slices in a pan on the stove, 1-2 minutes on each side. The box says to use oil but I just use cooking spray.

One serving of this delicious, cripsy eggplant is only 100 calories! And it’s delicious!

Pan frying makes it nice and crispy and since I don’t normally eat breaded eggplant it was quite a treat. There are five servings per container for this box, which was around $4. Not too bad!

What healthy “convenience” foods do you have on hand?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on June 25, 2010, in Dinner, products and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the review! I’ve been looking at these but was hesitant to buy them. I’ll definitely be picking some up next week :)

  2. Notes from the Fatty File

    Ooh, that looks pretty delicious! I love eggplant. My favorite lazy food right now is cooked beets from Trader Joe’s. I cannot get enough of them. Love them on salads.

  3. Dang I need to buy that! That looks divine and is super lazy and I love it LOL.

    xo

  4. I’ve seen those on other blogs, but I’ve yet to see them in stores here. If I do, they’re so mine. Lately, I’ve been digging Amy’s Quarter Pounder burgers and Helen’s Kitchen TofuSteaks.

  5. I have never had eggplant before and I am not sure that I have the guts to try it. But I am also not really a fan of microwaveable meals. I would rather make a meal that creats leftovers and reheat the leftovers!! :)

  6. I have a box of these in my freezer. Glad to know someone else reviewed them! Tonight I’m making the real deal – eggplant from my garden – this is a good quick alternative while I wait for more of my eggplants to grow.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Lazy eggplant « See Sarah Eat -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

