Amy’s pies : 1-1

Okay, I will admit now to you guys that I’ve sort of been lazy in the kitchen lately which is why I have been buying so many frozen foods. I’ve been so busy and it has been so hot here that it literally drains any energy I have left for cooking. I promise I will be back to cooking my own food again soon.

But in the meantime, it has been fun to try some new things and at least I am buying good brands with better ingredients, like Amy’s, right?

I found some frozen pot pies at Rainbow Blossom on Saturday, so I decided to give them a try for lunch on two separate occasions this week.

I didn’t realize it before I took this to work, but this one had to be cooked in the oven! Luckily, we happen to have one here, but it was hard to wait 15 minutes for my lunch to cook when my stomach was rumbling.

And it was worth the wait! The veggies, even though they had been frozen and then re-heated inside the pie, were tasty and still firm and I loved the crust.

And it had some tofu in there too! I really enjoyed this one. Way more than this:

This one cooked in the microwave, thank goodness, but sadly, I didn’t care much for it.

It was edible, but the mashed potatoes didn’t have a lot of flavor and the entire dish itself was just pretty bland. I think I found probably two garbanzo beans in the whole pie.

There just wasn’t much to it. I think it could’ve used some more seasoning or something. As much as I hate to add salt to anything, I think that might’ve helped, looking back.

I’m definitely picking up another veggie pot pie in the future though, that thing was amazing!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on June 26, 2010, in Lunch, products and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I’ve tried the vegetable pot pie too, and accidentally cooked it in the microwave! Still awfully tasty!

  2. I really like Kashi’s frozen meals! They are great, have you tried any of them before?

    Dana xo
    http://happinessiswithin.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

