Starting over, again

It’s Monday!

You know what that means…it’s a brand new day and a brand new week, which always inspires me to get re-focused on my goals and the things I want to accomplish this week and beyond. Today is no exception!

In fact, today is probably the most important Monday I’ve had in a while.

You see, I’ve really let myself backslide. I debated sharing this on the blog at first but I know that it helped me A LOT to read other stories of people who’ve struggled in the same way and who recently overcame plateaus and whatnot.

So here you go — I’ve been eating too much, not exercising enough, and I am now 11-12 pounds over my “happy weight” which itself was 11-12 pounds over my original goal when I first started back in 2007.

The weight in numbers really isn’t what is important, just the fact that I’d lost control and in turn have been feeling like crap. It really hit me when my pants got tighter.

How did I get here?

These past several weeks, maybe even months, I’ve felt like I was falling into a hole I couldn’t dig myself out of. I’ve felt physically and emotionally spent. So I’ve comforted myself with “rest days” and lots of tortilla chips and chocolate (not together, ha ha). I quit blogging regularly. Things got sort of dark at times.

I tried to get myself to “snap out of it” but it just didn’t happen. The only thing I could do was wait and pray because God always gets me through everything! :)

Well, I’ve waited and I feel like I’m ready to get myself back now!

I’m still planning to see some doctors for a few different things, including this issue I discussed last week, but I can already tell that I’m on my way back to being me again.

I thank God for what’s been going on because I feel like this experience, as hard as it has been, has given me a whole new perspective on my life. I take so much for granted and my goal is to do that less and less. I am truly blessed.

So, what does starting over mean?

Well, I tried to think back to 2007 and what starting over meant back then. For a combined total of 20 minutes over the weekend, I considered joining Weight Watchers but then I remembered that I didn’t have that much success with it before; that’s not what helped me lose 70 lbs.

What helped me was being accountable to MYSELF and keeping this nifty little journal:

Image Source

Back in December 2009, I wrote about how journaling was one of my keys to weight loss. I believe by going back to what worked so well for me the first time, I have a better chance of getting over this hump. I’m also interested to see if I am getting enough nutrients (fat, fiber, protein) that I haven’t really paid that much attention to recently.

Things have changed a lot since 2007, so I am interested to see what’s going on now and what I can do to improve and get back to my happy place, both with my weight and my life.

For example, on Saturday, I wrote in my journal for the first time and was a little shocked (but not really) that I consumed over 800 calories between 8:30 and 11 p.m. Do that a few times a week and it’s no wonder I’ve gained weight and feel bloated and sluggish.

Sometimes seeing something with your own eyes is just the wake up call you need.

I hope those of you who are struggling out there know it’s never too late to start over or start over again. Also, enlist a friend or two to start over with you, even if their goals are different than yours. It helps to have that support.

Happy Monday, everyone!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on July 19, 2010, in goals, Weight, weight loss and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. You are so right. It is never too late to start over. :)

  2. There is always another chance. Life is full of them.

    I hope you continue to post and we can help you through this journey :)

  3. Amazing thoughts! It’s so true how a new perspective motivates us. The word “renew” kept coming to mind as I read your post and how many passages in the Bible talk about the importance of it. The apostle Paul mentions “put on the new self” and “being transformed by the renewing of your mind” as a constant thing we must do. Many times the path to renewal has to start with our actions. I think the difficulty is often related to how we view ourselves. We believe “starting over” is a bad thing-like losing a term paper when the power goes out right in the middle of typing it—UGH! But that isn’t it at all. it’s just a realignment of or lives withe the goals we have set. And when we choose to do that it is not a time to despair (because I have to type my paper over again). It’s a time to look back-as u did with your journal- celebrate the victories you’ve been blessed with-and continue on the journey with renewed passion. Thanks for the encouragement as I am taking a day off work to “start over”. .

  4. Food journaling is amazing! I use the Lose It app on my iPhone (it’s a free app!) to count calories for everything I eat. And I’m not trying to lose at all. But I want to be accountable for everything I put in me. Plus, I like my booze on the weekends, so I try to have a little bit of a calorie deficit on week days … since my Fridays and Saturdays typically run about 1,000 calories over each day. Three or four glasses of wine or several beers can easily spike my calories up, so I try to be conscious. I don’t want to stop drinking on weekends, so I have to sacrifice a little on week days. If you have an iPhone, you should totally get the Lose It app. It’s changed my life! I’m also a huge control freak so I get off on anything that helps me micromanage my life. :-) Good luck!

  5. You always know how to turn a negative into a positive so I KNOW you will back at it, in no time!!!! And BTW that number on the scale does not measure how fabulous you are!

    ohhhh and happy early bday to the hubs!

  6. Hi there! I think prayer is a great tool to regain control. I used to battle binging and prayer was a big tool in overcoming it. I learned eating healthy was more about treating my body with respect. I started “allowing” myself all foods in moderation and losing the all or nothing attitude changed so much. Good luck with everything. And always remember you can accomplish anything!

  7. every day is a new day!

  8. Glad I stumbled upon this post. I’m in kinda the same boat and am happy for new beginnings and starting over. With God’s help. Hope you’re feeling better already!

  1. Pingback: Guess I’ll figure out exercise soon « River City Fitness

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

