Pizza e Vino

Confession: I went through a period where I HATED pizza!

It’s one of my husband’s favorite foods but it always left me feeling bloated and miserable, thanks to what I later learned was my intolerance for dairy and my general dislike of the way my body chooses to digest meat.

Thankfully, when I decided to go vegan, I started to love pizza for probably the first time in my life since I felt good eating it!

I swapped out heavy meats for fresh veggies, greasy crusts for pitas, and when I’m in the mood for it, vegan cheese:

008

Chicago Soy Dairy company sent me this sample to try out and I decided to use it to make homemade pizza! Sometimes I go completely cheese-less but every now and then “teese” sounds really good :)

I topped a pita with pizza sauce, diced red onion, mushrooms, and grated vegan mozzarella cheese. This is what it looked like before going in to the oven:

009While it was cooking in the oven (425* for 15 minutes) I enjoyed some Romaine salad with Goddess dressing and a glass of wine that I picked up at World Market this weekend.

010I haven’t been drinking much Chardonnay lately because I developed a preference for Pinot Grigio, but this one was fantastic. Plus, I love the name and the label, I’m totally lame like that ;-)

Random question: do you find that you prefer white wines in the summertime and reds in the winter? I think it’s a hot/cold weather thing for me.

When the pizza was done it smelled delicious!

012The cheese didn’t melt all the way but I was hungry and it was good enough for me to go ahead and eat it. I love how pita gets nice and crunchy, just the way I like my crust to be!

011Honestly, the CSD vegan mozzarella cheese was okay. It mostly melted and it tasted pretty good.

But it wasn’t as cheesy as Daiya, which melts a lot better and has a much more cheese-like taste and texture. But I would definitely call this one a close second.

Thanks Chicago Soy Dairy for the sample, I look forward to using it on a few more pizzas in the next couple of weeks!

How do you feel about pizza? What is your favorite topping?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on August 8, 2010, in Dinner, recipes, wine and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I LOVE pizza! You can probably tell from my blog ;) Tonight I had a broccoli and asparagus pizza with fresh mozzarella and basil. AMAZING!

  2. I love pizza, but since going vegan I’m much more inclined to go without cheese than use a substitute. I’ve tried several but none that I love. I like fresh toppings and either olive oil or a pesto.

    I’m also a huge fan of pinot grigio. I didn’t always have a taste for white wines, but I love it now, any time of the year. I’ll switch back and forth regardless of the weather, but I do find the white extra refreshing in the heat.

  3. Daiya totally works better but Chicago Soy Dairy is a more legit company.

  4. i love pizzaaaaaaaaa…..

  5. Man. There isn’t a pizza I don’t like! I love taco pizza a lot, but I also like insane veggie pizzas with tons of fresh toppings. I also prefer to go cheeseless, but that’s probably because I don’t really like any of the cheese substitutes I’ve tasted.

    As for wine, I’ve definitely noticed that I tend to drink white in the summer and red in the winter (unless I’m planning wine for a specific meal). For just drinking though, I love real sweet Missouri wines and the apple and blackberry wines from St. James Winery are hands down my favorite.

  1. Pingback: Mac ‘n Teese « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

