Can't take the heat?

I haven’t complained (much) all summer so far, but man…the heat got me today!

Right Now

Forecast: Partly CloudyPartly Cloudy
Temperature:                   95°F Feels Like: 104°

Details: Hot and humid.
Past 24-hr:
Precip: 0 in
Snow: 0 in
Wind: From ESE at 3mph

Farrah and I set out to run 4 miles as we finally begin our training for the Louisville Half Marathon on October 16th. Yeah, we knew it was 95 degrees outside but we thought we could handle it!

Well, maybe she could but a mile in, my face was on fire! Farrah said I looked like a tomato. What do you think?

So we called it a day at 2 miles and did some walking too. It was just too dang hot!

Now, how are we (okay, how am I) going to survive this weather and train for a half without spending a lot of time on the treadmill or waking up at an insanely early hour everyday?

I was trying to remember what I’ve done in years past. Last year was easy because our Summer was rather mild. But this year, we hit the 90 degree mark and never looked back! The year before I just gave up running completely after May and I definitely don’t want to do that again. Guess I’m going to have to come up with a new game plan.

How do you “beat the heat” and exercise in the summertime?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on August 9, 2010, in running, Walking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. it is super hot this summer- definitely wasn’t this bad last year! good job on knowing when to quit in this heat!

  2. It’s hot season now! More water needed when you exercise.

  3. This heat is awful! I just hope it cools soon.

  4. Heat is tough but the humidity is killer for sure. I just try and get out early in the mornings before the sun is up too high and it’s too hot. Smart move cutting the run short!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

