Fleet Feet Fiesta 2010

I can’t believe how long it had been since I had ran in a race! I also haven’t been running a whole lot in general, just 2-3 miles here and there. But now, it’s time to get serious!

The Fleet Feet Fiesta was a hilly 3 mile run through Cherokee Park at 9 p.m. at night. So it was my first night race! I’ve done a charity walk at night before, but never anything this challenging.

Image Source

Confession: I loathe Cherokee park. I mean, it’s beautiful, but those hills kick my butt! I’d much rather take Iroquois Park‘s dramatic ups and downs, instead of these slow gradual climbs. But I obviously needed a challenge; and I got it!

  • Distance: About 3 miles
  • Time: 34:30
  • Avg. pace: 11:30/mile

I ended up having to walk for a little bit between miles 2 and 3. I told Farrah it was likely because I’ve just been running 2-2.5 miles at a time lately so my brain decided at that point, I couldn’t do anymore. But I eventually picked it back up and ran across the finish line!

Yes, I have ran faster but I don’t care. For not having run much lately, I’ll take it. Plus, these days I want to just run for fun and do races because they help motivate me to keep up with running, which helps keep me in good shape, physically and mentally. I also want to stay injury free! So I’m not going to dwell on my time so much.

I did have to ice my right knee after the race and it was quite bothersome yesterday but I’m much better now. I’m just dealing with some quads soreness. My legs are like “Where the heck have YOU been?” Ha ha, I’ve been wondering that myself.

I had hoped to meet Rachel and Erica that night as they were both participating, but it ended up being a lot more crowded than I expected and we missed each other. Any other Louisville bloggers out there? We’ll all have to get together soon :)

My next race is next Saturday! I’m doing a 5k run for Colon Cancer at (thank the Heavens) Iroquois Park. I know those hills will still be challenging but if I made it through 3 miles at Cherokee, I pretty much feel like I can do anything now. To keep up with me, check out my Races page!

If you’ve been going through a rut, don’t give up! I’ve been struggling to get back into some sort of routine for a while now, but I finally feel like I’m breaking through whatever barriers were holding me back. You just have to be patient, which I know isn’t easy, believe me.

It feels so good to be back! Catch y’all later :)

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on August 23, 2010, in races, running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I agree, Cherokee Park is horrible. I did the winter series of races there last Dec, Jan, and Feb. I kinda hope to never run there again, but maybe I should try running there for fun sometime.

  2. I have a soft spot in my heart for Cherokee. Love the picture of Maple Road…it’s probably the most challenging hill in the park though not many people run on it.

  3. hills are so intense! I wouldn’t be a fan either but you should be proud that you did it!

  4. Yea, I hadn’t run much either. Just 2 miles or so, and flat! So going back to Cherokee Park was almost torture. Maybe it was good that it was dark, so that we couldn’t see all the hills.

    My husband took some pictures.

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/thomasglobal/tags/fiestarun/

    I will need to write my “Race Report”.

  5. props to you for running so many miles. Its good to see some fit people nowadays. Keep up the good work.

  1. Pingback: Pioneer 5k 2010 « River City Fitness

  2. Pingback: See Sarah Run « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

