Worthy replacement

When I first went vegan, I wasn’t too interested in “replacement” products. You know, like soy cheese (and soy free too), cream “cheese” and so on. Tempeh Bacon. You catch my drift. Non-dairy ice cream was about as far as I would go.

But little by little, I have tried products such as those and mostly I’ve been impressed. I love Tofutti cream cheese and sour cream, which taste exactly the same as the real deal to me.

Some products have been better than others, that is for sure, but it has been fun to try all the various alternatives out there. Even more evidence that it is possible to eat a vegan diet without sacrificing all of your favorite foods (or condiments).

The latest product I have experimented with is Nayonaise, a mayo-like product from Nasoya, those tofu people:

028 I adored mayo when I was a kid. I ate a lot of bologna sandwiches with it smothered on the bread over the course of my childhood. That’s not exactly something I am proud of, but it is what it is.

Since I started my journey to health in 2007, mayonnaise has been a rarity, as it contains a lot of calories and fat, especially when served at a restaurant. At home, the fat free versions just didn’t taste as good. Then, when I went vegan and said no to eggs, mayo was out for good.

Until tonight when I decided to give the Nayonaise a shot on a Morningstar Farms Grilled Chik’n patty for dinner.

029 When I opened the container, I thought: “Wow. It smells like mayonnaise. The consistency is a little weird. Oh well, let’s see!”

I have to say, it has been a LONG time since I’ve had mayonnaise. However, the Nayonaise tasted pretty darn close to me. I can’t wait to try it on veggie burgers and in recipes (like potato salad) that would normally call for mayo.

Like I said, the consistency is different but the taste (and smell) are spot on. Do you use faux mayo? How?

Have you tried any other replacement products? Which ones were hits? Misses?

I did not care much for this vegan alfredo pasta I had one time. But that’s the only thing I can remember not loving. I’m sure there are others, but the good definitely outweighs the bad!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on August 23, 2010, in products, reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. I’m most hesitant about vegan cheeses. Maybe I’m too fresh off the cow stuff that I would rather just omit than replace.

    I do use Vegenaise, but I’ve never tried Nayonaise. Have you tried both? Do you have a preference?

    Other favorite things are Smart pepperoni, So Delicious ice cream sandwiches, and Tofurkey slices. I haven’t had milk or meat in years, so maybe that’s why I’m more accepting of these things.

  2. I actually DESPISE mayo! Yuck!

  3. I’m weird but I’ve never been a fan of mayo but I really love some of the replacements. Vegonaise is my favorite!

  4. this is an interesting article. if you can also list some other alternatives for protein for vegans, it would be great.

    • Ahhhh, the protein myth. Unfortunately in today’s society most people are under the impression that protein is something that everyone needs to load up on 24/7. Lets take a look at some of the most powerful herbivores on our planet… the great apes, elephants… they thrive on a plant based diet, therefore they must be getting adequate protein. Right? Don’t worry too much about it, as long as you’re eating a varied diet with minimal processed foods.. you’ll be just fine. If you’re still worried about it try to up your intake of things like tempeh, beans and legumes, whole grains like quinoa, and the occasional veggie burger or soy “chicken” patty is ok too!

  5. I definitely use some “replacement” products. Vegenaise, Tofutti sour cream and cream cheese and Daiya cheese. I’d like to think I use them in “moderation” but….

  6. I have tried Nayonaise; but I honestly think Vegenaise is far superior. My hubby is omni and he actually refuses to eat any mayo type product (or actual mayo) besides Vegenaise…the stuff is addictive…and versatile.
    I’m hesitant about most vegan cheeses because I’ve had some truly nasty ones…to the extent that I refuse to eat them anymore unless it’s something I made.
    The biggest ‘miss’ I’ve found since going vegan is yogurts. Man…vegan yogurt is disgusting and more like pudding than like yogurt to me. You know what else is gross? So Delicious Coconut Milk Keifer…talk about chemical city!

  7. Well, since I’m not vegan I don’t know about cheese, mayo, cream, etc products. I do know I like Morningstar farms for “meat replacements”. They are good!

  8. I actually never liked mayonnaise until I went I vegan, then I discovered Nayonaise and Vegenaise. The latter is way better – you gotta try it Sarah. They have organic and grapeseed oil versions too if you don’t want soy or canola.

  9. I cant’ stand that mayo. Not Recommended

  10. Yums I love mayo! (but you know this already). One thing that I can’t stand is veggie “burgers” that I get from the store. I rather make my own at home =)

  11. VEGENAISE. i can eat it straight. out. of. the. jar. i put it on everything. it tastes EXACTLY like regular mayo. i will cry the day they stop making it!

  12. I’ve only tried Vegenaise, and it’s wonderful! I use it in chickpea salad, potato salad, tofu “egg” salad, on sandwiches, veggie burgers, even a dollop on baked potatoes…one of my favorites is a TST sandwich (tempeh, spinach, and tomato)on toasted bread with lots of “mock” mayo…. it’s great stuff!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

