Meat free: One year later

Wow, a year has flown by!

Prior to September 2009, the vegetarian (and later vegan) diet was becoming more appealing to me for a number of reasons. I started to notice more how I felt when I ate meat and when I didn’t. I had been an “accidental” vegetarian off and on because when I just ate what came naturally, I was usually not putting meat in my meals.

But, nothing was ever official until September of last year when I decided to take a “gradual” approach to refining my diet (read: “To vegan or not to vegan”).

You may also remember this post, on September 10th, when I ate at Shane’s Rib Shack for my Dad’s birthday. It was the last time I ever ate meat!

A few days later, after a fun trip to Chicago to see U2, I realized that this was going to be a great change for me and I wanted to go a step further to eliminate all animal products from my diet. It was just going to take time and baby steps in order to get it right.

I did not go vegan until October 1st, but I am definitely celebrating my year of meatlessness today. I wasn’t sure at first if this would be a permanent change or just an experiment, but after feeling as great as I do, learning things I have learned and living healthy and happy for one year without meat, I know this is the way for me. I don’t need meat and I don’t want it.

I also recently read a quote that my friend Carrie posted on Facebook that made me happy too:

“As a vegan, you personally save the lives of approximately eighty-three animals a year, reduce your carbon output by an average of 3,000 pounds, and conserve 1.4 million gallons of water a year.” – Jolinda Hackett

Today is once again my Dad’s birthday (hooray for another year of life) only this time we are having dinner somewhere other than Shane’s Rib Shack, which still remains a family favorite.

At least I can fondly remember that place for the time when one chapter of my life ended and another began. :)

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on September 10, 2010, in accomplishments, diets, vegetarianism and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Congrats on one year animal product free! :D You’re a vegan inspiration to me!

  2. That is so wonderful! You will have to let us all know what you eat this tonight…

  3. Congrats! I love to see the health and compassion pieces fit together.

  4. I am so proud of you and I also want to thank you…in february it will be one year for me too and you were one of the people that really helped me through this process…

    YOU ARE AMAZING!

  5. Happy meat free anniversary!
    We went meat free (but I do eat occasional Fish or shrimp) almost 18 months ago!!!

  6. congrats, sarah!

    i can’t quite believe what i was missing out on … this vegan thing rocks! in december i’ll celebrate four years meat-free (save for one bout with foxhollow farm beef sausage after reading animal, vegetable, miracle). for most of those years, i still ate fish, eggs, and cheese. now i’m happy to say that i’ve done vegan off and on since new year’s, with a steady increase in the percentage vegan of my diet every month. now i’m over 90 percent vegan, with occasional “cheats” like cheese and desserts out. but no more eggs/fish, ever! i have incredible energy and feel great! i love carrie’s quote, too!

  1. Pingback: The Swan Dive « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

