The Swan Dive

Have you ever heard of The Swan Dive?

I’m sure many of my vegan and foodie friends here in Louisville have. But, if you don’t fall into either of those two categories, you may not have. In fact, Josh thought I was going to a place where there were literally swans diving. Hmm…

Anyway, as my friend Courtney says The Swan Dive is exactly what it says…a dive.

Finally! :)

But they also just so happen to have a 100% vegetarian menu, a good portion of which is also vegan or can be made vegan.

I can’t believe in my year as a vegetarian I had never been to this establishment. But, I finally made it there on Wednesday night!

They had a lot to choose from and it was really hard to narrow it down but in the end, tempeh bacon won me over! :)

Vegan BLT

Sorry for the gritty picture — bad lighting!

I got the vegan BLT (which comes with tempeh bacon and Vegenaise) which came with a side. They had vegan mac ‘n cheese and french fries, but I went with a side salad specifically because they have Goddess dressing, ha ha!

For “bar food” I did not find anything to be greasy at all. What I ate was really tasty and fresh.¬†And it was so nice to have so many options that fit my dietary preferences.

I loved it and I can’t wait to go back. Just got a few other places to try first! :)

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on September 10, 2010, in Dinner, restaurants and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. My tempeh bacons owns that ;)

  2. I will have to check that out. I go through Louisville often and have been frequenting the Third Avenue Cafe – I’ll be interested to see the other places you go, too. (Not to be a creep, but you never know is reading and will find it useful!)

  3. Where is this place!?! I gotta go!

  4. Ah…it’s a dive on Swan Street ;) and the vegetarian French Dip kills!!!!

  5. I have been thinking about that vegan blt ever since you told me that you were going to that place! lol

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

