Pumpkin Gnocchi

Yes, more pumpkin! I’m glad you liked my Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins post from yesterday. Around here, it’s going to be all pumpkin, all the time. At least for a little while ;-)

For dinner on Thursday, I decided to try a new type of gnocchi (thanks to Matt’s post from earlier that day).

‘Tis the season!

I was really excited when I found this at World Market, the same place I found my Pumpkin Spice Coffee!

The first time I had gnocchi, I tried the Whole Wheat version and enjoyed that. I was super excited to see a pumpkin version but I wondered how it would taste, since most of my pumpkin consumption is in the form of sweets or oatmeal.

I cooked the package as directed and used this pasta sauce that I believe I purchased at Whole Foods (don’t quote me):

I mixed it with the last of these Boca crumbles which had been in my freezer forever. It feels so good to use stuff up, doesn’t it?

All together! It doesn’t look like much but this really filled me up and I didn’t want to stuff myself anyway because I went to a Body Pump class about an hour after dinner! :)

I believe the sauce might have taken away from the taste of the gnocchi but the sauce itself was delicious. I wanted to get pumpkin sauce to go with it but most of the ones I saw contained dairy. However, I did take a bite of one without sauce on it and the pumpkin flavor was still very subtle.

This was a good, healthy meal and very tasty but I think in the future, I will stick with the whole wheat gnocchi. Or perhaps I will try my hand at making some myself?

 What products have you tried recently that left you just slightly disappointed?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on September 25, 2010, in Dinner, products and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I think with gnocchi, you want to just have a simple sauce. They have so much flavor and texture on their own, that they don’t need much.

  2. I recently tried whole wheat gnocchi for the first time and I was disappointed. It was really gummy and stuck to the roof of my mouth. Is that how it is supposed to be or did I overcook it?

    Is Urban Active the only place that offers Body Pump in Louisville? I’ve been wanting to try it forever, but my gym doesn’t offer it.

    • Nope! I know the YMCA offers it and I go to Powerhouse Gym to take it now. I actually have a free pass if you’d like to join me sometime!

      As for the ww gnocchi, I do remember mine being a bit sticky too. The pumpkin kind was not as much but the flavor of the ww was better to me. I don’t think you overcooked it but I’m still a gnocchi novice ;)

  3. Boca and gnocchi is such a great idea!!! I have both and will most likely whip something up tomorrow for dinner involving the two :)

  4. Hmm…making gnocchi is a little labor-intensive, but it can be really worth it! I would love to try pumpkin gnocchi with a creamy, alfredo-type sauce.

    My biggest “meh” products are usually fancy-schmancy vegan substitute things, like any vegan “cheese” but Daiya!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

